Archive for Saturday, June 6, 2009

Around and about

June 6, 2009


Missouri State University, Springfield, announces its dean’s list for the spring 2009 semester for students earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher. Area students on the list are: Ashley Mayer and Lynne Sauer, Lawrence; and Lauren Sanders and Carrie Shirk, Wellsville.

• Joanna Loewen and Yuri Mitchell, both of Lawrence, have been inducted into Omicron Delta Epsilon, the international honor society for economics at Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa.

Loewen and Mitchell were among 17 students inducted into the inaugural class of the Cornell chapter, also known as the Iota Chapter of Iowa. Members of the honor society will provide tutoring support for courses in economics.

• Kayla and Jake Crotts, Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Ella Grace Crotts, on May 23, 2009, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Her maternal grandparents are Roger Dreiling and Jean Dreiling, both of Lawrence; and her paternal grandmother is Diana Chamberlain, Lawrence.

• Hillary Wehmeyer, daughter of Mark and Connie Wehmeyer, Lawrence, earned a President’s Award scholarship to attend the Columbus College of Art and Design in Ohio. The merit scholarship was awarded as a result of an art portfolio competition judged by faculty at the college.

Wehmeyer, a Lawrence High School graduate, plans to major in fashion design and will begin her studies this fall.

• Kristina Haima, Topeka, earned an Associates of Arts degree in business from Highland Community College May 19. Haima, a 2000 graduate of Free State High School, plans to continue her education at Baker University.

• Kansas University’s mathematics department recognized its students and faculty for outstanding academic and teaching achievements for the 2008-09 academic year at its 52nd annual honors banquet April 21 at the Adams Alumni Center.

This year, the math department presented more than $62,450 in awards and scholarships. Award winners are announced in the spring, and scholarship recipients will be announced in the fall. Funds for the awards and scholarships are administered through KU Endowment.

Lawrence students receiving the U.G. Mitchell Honor Scholarship were: Mohamed Badawy, Thomas Enkosky, William Espenschied, Brandon Humpert and Daniel McNeill. Jonathan Hemphill, Lawrence, received the Ralph Byers Student Award.

• Jose Carvajal-Regidor, Lawrence, a May 15 graduate of Johnson County Community College, is the recipient of a national Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship, which supports outstanding community college students with financial need to transfer and complete their bachelor’s degrees at the nation’s top four-year colleges and universities. The scholarship covers unmet expenses up to the amount of $30,000.

Carvajal-Regidor was notified of the award at a surprise presentation May 1 at JCCC’s Writing Center, where he has been a peer tutor for two years. He also has been named to the JCCC president’s honor roll and is a member of the honors program and Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges.

After receiving money from the Fund for American Studies and JCCC’s Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Carvajal-Regidor will participate this summer in the Institute on Philanthropy and Voluntary Service at Georgetown University and is completing an internship at the Hispanic College Fund, both in Washington, D.C.

In the fall, he plans to attend American University, Washington, D.C., to pursue a career teaching Latin American history or literature.

• Kansas University recognized outstanding members of its Honors Program and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for the class of 2009 at a joint ceremony May 16 at the Crafton-Preyer Theatre in Murphy Hall. A reception followed in the courtyard of Murphy Hall. Honored students received gold medallions to wear during commencement activities. Lawrence students receiving the award were: Christine Allen, Rachel Berkley, Shylo Bundy, Jennifer Felts, Amanda Hart, Marie Hull, Rachel Koch, Alexander Krejci, Carol Liang, Gina Lorenz, Nathan Mack Jr., Bryan Maygers, Caitlin Shanks, Brenna Spurgeon, Harrison Swartz, Satyanarayana Telikepalli and Grant Wille. Other recipients from the area were Sonja Combest, Baldwin City; Jacob Longaker, De Soto; Caitlin Rose, Linwood; and Jennifer Harness and Sara Shannon, Ottawa. Marie Hull and Gina Lorenz also were honored by the University Scholars Program.

• Scott Bregman, Lawrence, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English language and literature with a minor in Latin from the University of Michigan on May 2 in Ann Arbor. He was a four-year letter winner on the men’s gymnastics team and was named a College Gymnastics Association’s Academic All-American for four consecutive years. Bregman competed on the fourth-ranked Michigan team that placed second at the NCAA Nationals. He plans to work for the university’s athletic department in media relations and with the men’s gymnastics team as a media manager. He plans to attend graduate school in 2010.

• The descendants of Robert Embry and Narcissa Agee Courtney will meet Sunday for the 76th annual Courtney reunion at the McLouth Community Building, 211 S. Union St. A potluck dinner will begin at 12:30 p.m. Please bring information on family history and photos.

The Courtneys homesteaded in Leavenworth County near the community of Springdale in the autumn of 1854. They had 11 children with many descendants in the area. For additional information call Teresa Harker Woodhead at (913) 796-6614.

• Benedictine College, Atchison, announces students earning degrees and academic honors at commencement exercises May 16 in the Ralph Nolan Gymnasium on campus. Students must earn a 4.0 grade-point average to be named to the president’s list and a grade-point average between 3.5 to 3.9 for the dean’s list.

Lawrence students earning Bachelor of Arts degrees are: John Bourneuf, business administration, and Jessica Hermesch, Spanish.

Area students named to the dean’s list: Eric Nielsen, Bonner Springs; John Bourneuf, Jessica Hermesch and Drew Huff, all of Lawrence. Ann Heschmeyer, Eudora, was named to the president’s list.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.