Archive for Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Kansas swimmers put 18 on academic teams

February 25, 2009


Eighteen members of the Kansas University swimming and diving team were named to the first or second Academic All-Big 12 teams. For the second straight year, KU leads the conference with the most members placed on the Academic All-Big 12 teams.

Kansas had six Jayhawks nominated with perfect 4.00 grade-point averages: Jessica Brozek, Anne Liggett, Amanda Maez, Hannah McMacken, Alyssa Potter and Brittany Potter. No other Big 12 team had more than three student-athletes nominated with a perfect GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

First-team members have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

KU’s other first-team selections: Molly Brammer, Joy Bunting, Carrah Haley, Melissa Heyrman, Danielle Herrmann, Emily Lanteigne, Rhynn Malloy, Kendall Matous, Erin Mertz and Meghan Proehl. Lisa Dlugopolski and Sarah Beth Edwards were second-team selections.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.