Archive for Saturday, February 21, 2009

Around and about

February 21, 2009


Lawrence students participated in a scholastic chess tournament Feb. 7 at Topeka Collegiate School. In the junior high team section, Southwest Junior High School won first and Central Junior High School won third; and in the K-6 team section, Quail Run School placed second. Other individual medal winners were:

Junior high: Kaustubh Nimkar, Sunflower, second; Sam Beaulieu, CJHS, third; Luke Lesslie, SWJHS, fourth; Andrei Elliott, SWJHS, fifth; Venkata Malladi, SWJHS, sixth; Jacob Magnuson, SWJHS, seventh; Owen McFadden, South Junior High School, eighth; Austin Bailey, CJHS, ninth; Nicholas Shaheed, SWJHS, 10th; Vinnie Barker, SWJHS, 11th; Eric Wang, SWJHS, 13th; Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, 14th; Darren Rawlings, SJHS, 16th; Andrew Galbraith, SWJHS, 21st; Eddie Loupe, SWJHS, 22nd; Michael Ndoro, SWJHS, 24th; and Thomas Peterson, SWJHS, 26th.

In K-6: Apramay Mishra, Sunflower, second; Jonathan Lesslie, Quail Run, third; McCarthy Fitch, Cordley, fourth; Joseph Miller, Quail Run, seventh; Tom Brooks, Quail Run, eighth; and Jackson Maher, Cordley, 13th.

In K-3: Ting Ting Shi, Quail Run, fifth; Shrivatsa Malladi, Langston Hughes, 11th; John Ely, Sunflower, 14th; Paul Loupe, Sunflower, 24th; and Smita Ramesh, Langston Hughes, 27th.

High school: Thomas Clark, Free State High School, seventh; Peter Lesslie, FSHS, ninth; Sam Stephens, Quail Run, 12th; Aaron Simon, West Junior High School, 13th; Gil Ching, Lawrence High School, 15th; Johnny Chanthalangsy, LHS, 17th; and Brandon Marcure, LHS, 30th.

Junior High School students may audition for the Lillias Schmidt Honors Recital at 9 a.m. today at Plymouth Congregational Church, 925 Vt. The recital will be at 2 p.m. Sunday at the church, with a reception to follow.

Braxton Nottingham, Lawrence, was named to the fall 2008 dean’s list at Oklahoma State University, in Stillwater, by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher and no grade below a C.

Sixty-two Kansas University students have graduated from the 2009 LeaderShape Institute, sponsored and coordinated annually by the Student Involvement and Leadership Center. The six-day program was Jan. 8-13 at the Tall Oaks Conference Center near Linwood.

Area graduates are: Greer Adkins-Heljeson, Astrid Beltran, Lauren Bornstein, Joshua Campbell, Kelly Morgan, Lawrence; Molly Sailors, Perry; Elizabeth Bartkoski, Basehor; and Jaclyn Ward, Tecumseh.

Benedictine College, Atchison, announces area students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester, by earning a grade-point average between 3.5 and 3.9.

Area students on the list are: John Bourneuf and Jessica Hermesch, Lawrence; Brent Fanning, Basehor; and Ann Heschmeyer, Eudora.

Amanda Stroud, Basehor, was named to the dean’s list with high honors at Northwestern College, in St. Paul, Minn., by earning a grade-point average between 3.75 and 3.89 for the fall 2008 semester.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.