Archive for Saturday, December 5, 2009

Around and about

December 5, 2009


Bethany Enoch and Karl Metzger, both medical students at Kansas University School of Medicine, are two of five students selected as 2009 Pisacano Scholars by the Pisacano Leadership Foundation. Enoch and Metzger are the first Pisacano Scholars selected at KU since the start of the program in 1993. Enoch earned an undergraduate degree from MidAmerica Nazarene University in 2004. Metzger earned an undergraduate degree from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln in 1992.

The scholarships, valued up to $28,000 each, are awarded to students attending U.S. medical schools who demonstrate a strong commitment to the specialty of family medicine. In addition, each applicant must display leadership skills, superior academic achievement, strong communication skills, identifiable character and integrity, and a noteworthy level of community service.

The Pisacano Leadership Foundation, Inc. was created in 1990 by the American Board of Family Medicine in tribute to the founder and first executive director of the ABFM, Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano (1924-1990).

Amelia Weil, daughter of Malika Lyon and Stan Weil, and stepdaughter of Clark Jamison, all of Lawrence, received a Congress-Bundestag scholarship to spend the 2009-2010 school year in Germany as an exchange student. Weil, 16, would have been a junior at Lawrence High School. She is the only person from the state of Kansas to receive this scholarship this year.

Raquel Dominguez, daughter of Charlie Dominguez and Leslie Milton, all of Lawrence, graduated from level 1 of the Future Astronaut Training Program (FATP) this summer at the Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center in Hutchinson. Dominguez is a ninth-grader at Bishop Seabury Academy in Lawrence.

The weeklong introductory astronaut camp is for students entering grades 7-10 and emphasizes teamwork, leadership and problem solving. During the week, campers train in space simulators, launch homemade rockets, direct a robotic mission, and learn night sky observation techniques.

Joel Burg, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2009 dean’s list at Ball State University, in Muncie, Ind., by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester.

Lisa Marie and Seth Taylor Martin, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Kellar Moses Martin, on Oct. 27, 2009, at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

Kellar has a brother, Rider Cash, 5; and a sister, Lola Annabelle, 3.

His maternal grandparents are Rick and Brenda Gammill; and his paternal grandparents are Jeff Martin and Sheryle D’Amico, and Jan and Ulf Langgard, all of Lawrence.

His great-grandmother is Annabelle Martin, Overland Park.

Kenny Myers, a graduate of Free State High School, was one of only 10 high school seniors nationwide to receive a 2009 scholarship from Harland Clarke Holdings Corp. The scholarship recipients are dependents of employees of one of the three wholly-owned subsidiaries that comprise Harland Clarke Holdings Corp. The $1,000 scholarships are renewable annually for up to four years, based upon the recipients maintaining a defined grade-point average.

As a student at FSHS, Myers achieved a 3.98 GPA and was ranked 27th in his graduating high-school class. He was involved in several organizations, including National Honor Society, Concert, Symphonic and Jazz Band, Latin Club, and track and field. Myers attends Ohio State University. He is the son of Debra Myers.

The Stormont-Vail Foundation announces area nursing students awarded scholarships at the Baker University School of Nursing, Stormont-Vail campus, for the fall 2009 semester. Area nursing students and their scholarships are:

• Blanche Bryden Nursing Scholarship: Kimberly Burbank, Wellsville.

• Christ’s Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Nursing Scholarship: Ashley Tetuan, Tecumseh.

• Christ’s Wolff Nursing Scholarship: Katelin Burgen and Megan McCrary Stovall, both of Berryton; Kimberly Begert, Brian Bennett, Naa Britwum, Kelly Lindemyer and Kimberly Shepard, all of Lawrence; and Heather Jones, Tecumseh.

• Dr. Charles S. & Doris F. Joss Nursing Scholarship: Kelsey Heckathorne, Baldwin City; and Stephanie Klise, Berryton.

• Gault-Hussey Nursing Scholarship: Lauren Miller and Kate Spano, both of Lawrence; Erika Engelken Parker, Oskaloosa; and Sonya Torneden, Overbrook.

• Marjorie Groll Nursing Scholarship: Brooke Faria da Cunha, Jessica Salah and Jana Wiley, all of Lawrence.

• Security Benefit Nursing Scholarship: Rebecca Blevins, Lawrence; and Krysta Snyder, Meriden.

• Stormont-Vail Foundation Nursing Scholarship: Breanna Barker, Basehor.

The Ms. Wheelchair Kansas Program is currently searching for women of achievement who are wheelchair mobile to be contestants in the sixth annual Ms. Wheelchair Kansas event. The program is not a beauty contest, but a competition to select the most articulate, accomplished delegate to serve as a role model and spokesperson for people with disabilities in Kansas.

The event will be held on March 12-14, 2010, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel in Topeka. Applications must be postmarked by Jan. 7, 2010. For more information, contact Carrie Greenwood, state coordinator, at 785-267-5982, or via e-mail at, or visit the MWKS Web site at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.