Archive for Saturday, April 18, 2009

Around and about

April 18, 2009


The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Association will present two recitals at 1 p.m. and 2:15 p.m. Sunday at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 N.H. The students represent the studios of Virginia Penny, Lisa Enns, Carol Cook, Elaine de San Miguel and Jung Spooner.

Students performing at 1 p.m. are: Victoria Drage, Catherine Timkar, Samantha Dunham, Ethan White, Blake Allen, Bess Davison, Wil Johnson, Halee Darling, Skylar Steichen, Amanda White, Katie Price, Grace Bradshaw, Isaac Slane, Savannah Price, Kristen Finger, Karen McCain, Morgan Manger and Ruth Entwistle.

Students performing at 2:15 p.m. are: Angela Young, Spencer Yost-Wolff, Jack Miller, Devlin Grewal, Olivia Lange, Brooke Yehle, Lydia Bulgren, Alana Branch, Sabrea Platz, Sarah Miller, Wyatt Bugh, Rebecca Feng, Sydney Combs, Ben Katz, Veronica Heredia, Abby Hosek, Marlee Yost-Wolff, Elbeg Erdenne, Di Xie, Maggie Kuhlman, Yihan Li, Cal Young, Malka Hampton, Ingrid Brass and John Weiss.

• The Johnson County Community College Model United Nations team won an Outstanding Delegation Award and an Outstanding Position Paper Award for its portrayal of Kenya at the National Model United Nations Conference April 4-9 in New York City.

Sixteen JCCC students competed with other colleges and universities from across North and South America, Europe and Asia. JCCC team members from Lawrence were: Jason Beury, Heather Odell and Sarah Taylor.

Daniel Adams, Tonganoxie, has completed a Bachelor of Science in public administration at Upper Iowa University, Fayette, Iowa. He attended the school’s Fort Leavenworth center.

• Kansas University students volunteered for Alternative Spring Break, March 16-20.

The program costs participants $275, or $225 for site leaders, which covers their transportation, housing and meals. Students selected for the program are required to attend the Special Projects in the Community course to prepare for their trips. Participation in Alternative Spring Breaks counts as one unit for the University Honors Program, which requires students to complete one or two units outside the classroom to graduate with honors.

Alternative Spring Break sites for 2009 were: AIDS Foundation, Houston; Autism Society of Colorado, Denver; National Coalition for the Homeless, Washington, D.C.; Newcomer Center, Arlington Heights, Ill., No More Deaths/No Mas Muertes, Tucson, Ariz.; Teach For America, Philadelphia; and TreeUtah, Salt Lake City. Area students participating were:

Lawrence: Brooke Abney, Autism Society of Colorado; Julia Barnard, Teach for America; Brenna Tompson Daldorph, No More Deaths/No Mas Muertes; Stephanie Jian, AIDS Foundation, site leader; Rebecca Sheldon-Sherman, AIDS Foundation; and Hannah Vick, Newcomer Center, site leader.

Perry: Molly Sailors, Teach for America.

Basehor: Elizabeth Bartkoski, National Coalition for the Homeless, site leader.

Tecumseh: Adam Vossen, AIDS Foundation.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.