Archive for Saturday, April 4, 2009

Scouting news

April 4, 2009


David Lawrence, of Lawrence, will receive his Eagle Scout award at a Court of Honor at 2:30 p.m. Sunday at Burgess Scout Cabin in Lawrence.

Lawrence, 15, the son of Larry Lawrence and Erica Landsberg, Lawrence, is a sophomore at Bishop Seabury Academy. He is a member of Troop 55, chartered by Westside Presbyterian Church.

For his Eagle project, Lawrence conducted a three-pronged facelift of the landscaping at the Lawrence Jewish Community Center designed to minimize ongoing maintenance for the center.

In the Order of the Arrow, he became an Ordeal Member in 2006 and a Brotherhood Member in 2007.

In the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, he became a brave in 2007 and warrior in 2008, both at Bartle Scout Reservation, which he has attended five times.

He has served as troop librarian, den chief, troop guide, assistant patrol leader, patrol leader, assistant senior patrol leader and senior patrol leader.

He joined the troop in 2004 and has advanced in the ranks of Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life and Eagle; and earned merit badges in archery, art, aviation, basketry, bird study, camping, citizenship in community, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world, communications, environmental science, family life, first aid, fish and wildlife, fishing, forestry, geology, Indian lore, leatherwork, lifesaving, mammal study, orienteering, personal management, personal fitness, pioneering, pottery, reptile/amphibian, sculpture, small boat sailing, space exploration, swimming, weather, wilderness survival and wood carving.

At Bishop Seabury Academy, Lawrence has lettered in forensics and tennis. He is a member of the Student Senate and has been on the honor roll for seven semesters. Larry and David Lawrence are the only father and son Eagle Scouts in Troop 55.

• Troop 55, chartered to Westside Presbyterian Church of Lawrence, announces new members:

Scouts: Austin Lindberg, Perry Pack 82; August Hachmeister, Austin Coughlin, Carter Claxton, Connor Nichols and Gage Jaap, Oskaloosa Pack 89; Braden Johanning, Glen Lemmons, Nathan Herries, Sadra Gerami, Stephan Osterhaus and Thomas Uhler, Pack 3013; Alex Waite and Brandon Bunting, Pack 3057; Ted Savich, Pack 3059; Michael Gates, Pack 3072; Noah Christilles, Pack 3077; Jon Mitts, Lane Nations and Seth Winchester, Pack 3370; and Andrew Ferguson and Isaac March. New Scouters are Vicki Lindberg, Pack 82; Leah Nichols, Pack 89; Gregg Winchester, Pack 3370, and Bo March.

Troop 55 conducted a winter Court of Honor Feb. 9 at Westside Presbyterian Church with 31 youths earning 41 merit badges and 13 advancing in rank. They are:

Tenderfoot: Tyler Archinal, Daniel Spencer Clapp, Michael Heschmeyer and Levi Koch.

Star: John Bennett IV, Adam Hayes, Nick Pippert and Connor Remboldt.

Railroading: Jamie Braden, Gage Buffington, Charlie Gaito, Ian Gent, Tyler Hanson, Adam Hayes, Michael Heschmeyer, Alex Houston, Austin Johanning, Cody Koch, Levi Koch, Lucas Mackey, Ben Maloun, Kjell Mullenix, Wyatt Patterson, Jacob Pfeifer, Nick Pippert, Connor Remboldt, Isaac Remboldt, Tyler Robbins, Ivan Santos, Matthew Thompson, Monte Turner, Joseph Vannicola and Jeremy Woodhead.

Scout: Daniel Spencer Clapp.

Communications: Stephen Fulton.

Bird Study: Charlie Gaito.

Space Exploration: Joshua Gore.

Second Class: Andrew Harris and Michael Heschmeyer.

First Class: Michael Heschmeyer.

Life: Alex Houston.

Citizenship in the Nation: Alex Houston.

Cooking: Alex Houston.

Emergency Preparedness: Alex Houston, Austin Johanning, Cody Koch, Clayton Pfeifer and Nick Pippert.

Environmental Science: Cody Koch.

First Aid: Cody Koch.

Family Life: Nick Pippert.

Personal Fitness: Nick Pippert and Connor Remboldt.

• Troop 55 attended Winter Camporee at Camp Naish near Bonner Springs Feb. 27-28. Twenty Scouts and eight Scouters attended the event. The boys built a sled of sticks, ropes and poles and placed second in a sled race.

All Scouts attending earned the Pioneering merit badge: Jeremy Woodhead, Tyler Archinal, Tyler Barnes, John Bennett IV, Jamie Braden, Charlie Gaito, Andrew Harris, Michael Heschmeyer, Alex Houston, Austin Johanning, John Kihm, Levi Koch, Lucas Mackey, Kjell Mullenix, Clayton Pfeifer, Nick Pippert, Connor Remboldt, Isaac Remboldt, Daniel Spencer Clapp and Matthew Thompson. Scouters attending were: Monicka Remboldt, Cammie Braden, Scott Braden, Rick Heschmeyer, Kevin Barnes, Richard Gaito, Peter Houston and Carrie Koch.

• Members of Boy Scout Troop 64, sponsored by the Eudora Lions Club, participated in the 22nd annual “Scouting for Food” food drive on March 28. With help from the Eudora Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, 4-H Club members, volunteers from the Holy Family confirmation class and Eudora United Methodist Church, and Troop 64 alumni and friends, more than 2,200 items of food were collected and taken to the Eudora Ministerial Alliance Food Pantry at the St. Paul’s United Church of Christ.

Scouts who helped replenish the food pantry were Connor Bradley, Nathan Bradley, Simon Elwell, Andrew Briery, Jonathan Morrison, Alex Whitten, Colin Forsberg, Evhan Sours, Nathan Gentleman, Patrick Bradley, Steven Wimmer, Tom Stanley, Matt Jones, and Devon Middleton. Scouters and adults helping were Glenn Jackson, Greg Elwell, Heidi Briery, Bob Slapar, Tom Whitten, Dan Sours, Duane Gentleman, Roy Wimmer, John Scott, Amye Scott, Damon Bradley, Ann Wimmer, Lee Scott, Melanie Scott, David Lewis, Jeff Lewis, Jim Morrison, Jim Guy and Glenn Wineinger. Other area Scouts participating in the food drive:

Lawrence — Packs 3013, 3052, 3055, 3057, 3071, 3072, 3077, 3370, 3059 and 3462, and Troops 52, 55, 59, 60 and 61 collected more than 3,500 items for Penn House, Ballard Center, Leo Center, Trinity Interfaith Food Pantry and Salvation Army.

Baldwin City — Pack 3065 and Troop 65 and collected more than 2,000 pounds of food.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.