Archive for Saturday, October 18, 2008

FCE and 4-H news

October 18, 2008


The Lone Star 4-H Club met Sept. 8 at the Lone Star Church of the Brethren. Leslie Queen, acting president, called the meeting to order. Rowan Plinsky, Bethany Ledom and Megan Williams led the group in "I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover." For roll call, members responded to, "If you could switch places with someone who would it be?"

Mary Berg gave the community leader report. This was the last meeting with David Metsker as the community leader.

A new slate of club officers was elected for the 2008-2009 4-H year.

Brianna Krysztof gave a presentation of her Citizenship Washington Focus 4-H trip from earlier in the year. Krysztof also shared pictures and stories about her trip to Washington, D.C.

¢The Douglas County Extension Council had its annual election Oct. 7 at the Dreher Family Building on the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds. Members elected for the Agriculture Program Development Committee were: Larry Alstrom, Jim Congrove and Greg Shipe. Members elected to the Family and Consumer Sciences PDC were: Paula Murrish, Kathy Mulinazzi and Mark Rainey. Members elected to serve on the 4-H Youth PDC were: Lanaea Heine, Rhonda Wehrman and Kristy Wempe. Members elected to the Economic Development PDC were: Chas Benton, Kathy Wilson and Lyn Byczynksi.

Council members who were elected in 2008 and members elected this year will participate in the Extension Council annual meeting at 6 p.m. on Dec. 11 in the Dreher Family Building at the fairgrounds. At the annual meeting, the 24 council members will elect nine individuals from the council to serve as an executive board.

The meeting is open to the public. For more information or reservations, call 843-7058.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.