Archive for Saturday, October 11, 2008

Around and about

October 11, 2008


Kansas University's Panhellenic Association announces area students joining sororities at KU through the fall formal recruitment process.

All 13 of the Panhellenic Association's sororities added new members. Membership bids were extended to women who completed the nine-day recruitment process.

Sororities that are part of KU's Panhellenic Association are Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Gamma Delta, Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, Delta Gamma, Gamma Phi Beta, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Delta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Pi Beta Phi, Sigma Delta Tau and Sigma Kappa.

Area students joining sororities:

¢ Eudora: Catherine Klotz, Gamma Phi Beta.

¢ Lawrence: Julia Barnard, Sigma Delta Tau; Emily Bracciano, Kappa Kappa Gamma; Bailey Carlson, Alpha Delta Pi; Alexa Cole, Pi Beta Phi; Hilary Ferguson, Pi Beta Phi; Carolyn Fish, Chi Omega; Carson Fritzel, Chi Omega; Chamberlain Fritzel, Chi Omega; Amanda Gage, Kappa Kappa Gamma; Kelly Gerard, Delta Gamma; Ellen Hernly, Chi Omega; Sarah Hoffman, Alpha Delta Pi; Jade Holmes, Pi Beta Phi; Arden Leland, Gamma Phi Beta; Lindsey Murray, Chi Omega; Taeler Nieder, Delta Delta Delta; Afton O'Connor, Delta Delta Delta; Erika O'Shea, Alpha Chi Omega; Erin Robinson, Chi Omega; Alexandra Schriner, Alpha Chi Omega; Katie Sloan, Delta Gamma; and Alexandra Warner, Kappa Delta.

¢ Ottawa: Megan Ketchum, Alpha Delta Pi; and Deanna Lydick, Delta Delta Delta.

¢ Oskaloosa: Megan Forge, Delta Delta Delta.

¢ Tonganoxie: Haley Freeman, Alpha Chi Omega.

¢ ¢ ¢

Rebecca and Allen Lankford, Kansas City, Mo., announce the birth of their daughter, Lyla Grace Lankford, born Oct. 4, 2008, at Olathe Medical Center.

Her maternal grandparents are Bill and Sharon Salyer, Kansas City, Mo. Her paternal grandparents are Wayland and Patsy Lankford, Lawrence. Her great-grandparents are Bill and Jane Salyer, Falls of Rough, Ky.; and Velma Lankford, Norman, Okla.

¢ ¢ ¢

Brett Bricker and Nathaniel Johnson, Kansas University debaters, won the prestigious University of Kentucky Invitational debate tournament Oct. 1-2 in Lexington, Ky. The tournament is a round robin invitational for the top nine teams in the country. Other teams participating in the tournament were Emory University, Harvard University, Michigan State University, Northwestern University, Towson University, Wake Forest University, the University of California at Berkeley and the University of Southern California.

Bricker and Johnson are the first KU team to win the Kentucky round robin, which has been hosted annually since 1972. Bricker also won the first-place award for individual debater.

¢ ¢ ¢

Lawrence chess players participated at a chess tournament on Oct. 4 at Arbor Creek Elementary in Olathe.

Individual trophy winners in K-3: Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, second; and Klara Hinson, Wakarusa Valley, 11th.

Individual trophy winners in K-6: Jakob Burdett, Cordley, 10th; Wynn Feddema, Quail Run, 11th; Michael Tracy, Wakarusa Valley, 23rd; and Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 27th.

Individual trophy winners in K-9: Edward Wilson, Central Junior High, first; Andrei Elliott, Southwest Junior High, fifth; Vinnie Barker, SWJH, sixth; Samuel Beaulieu, CJHS, seventh; Ian Gent, CJHS, eighth; and Owen McFadden, South Junior High, 19th.

Individual trophy winners in K-12: Kellen Cross, Free State High School, third; Sam Stephens, Quail Run, fifth; and Aaron Simon, West Junior High, 12th.

CJHS won the first place team trophy in the K-9 division.

¢ ¢ ¢

The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Association announces the second recital of the 2008-2009 season. The recital will be at 7 p.m. Thursday at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 N.H. Local performers include Rebecca Feng, Ethan White, Alana Branch, Sabrea Platz, Amanda White, Ava Cormaney, Ben Katz, Sarah Mechem, Grace Brazell, Kaman Turner, Karen McCain, Hannah Smith, Kyrsten Turner and Rodi Torres-Gavosto. These students represent the studios of Elaine de San Miguel, Mary Cornwell and Carol Cook. The public is invited.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.