Archive for Saturday, November 22, 2008

Club news

November 22, 2008


University Bridge Club announces results of its Nov. 15 meeting. Hosts were John and Jane Golden and Walt and Jo Ann Hicks.

Blue winners were Dave Gaumer, first; Janet Dunn, second; Noreen Hein, third; Ray Ikenberry, fourth; and Virginia Williams, fifth.

Pink winners were Mary Gaumer, first; Florence McNicoll, second; Carolyn Jordan, third; Darlene Schneider, fourth; and Donna Gatts, fifth.

• • •

Knights of Columbus Councils 1372 and 12960 received the Columbian and Father Michael McGivney awards for the 2007-2008 fraternal year. The Father Michael McGivney Award, named for the founder of the organization, is given in recognition of outstanding membership recruitment and retention efforts. The Columbian Award is presented for excellence in sponsoring programs that serve the church, community, families, youth and council members.

• • •

The Betty Washington Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution met Nov. 15 at Lawrence Presbyterian Manor. After the DAR ritual and flag salute, new members were introduced. The president general’s message and the National Defense report were read. Officer and committee reports were given. Awards will be given to Wanda Lawson, Jean Brant and Joann Lewis, for 25 years; and Mary Nelson, for 40 years with DAR. Martin Jones gave a program about his experience as a prisoner of war in World War II.

The next meeting will be at 10 a.m. on Dec. 13 at the home of Shari Johnson. For more information, contact Shari Johnson at 843-6199, or Stacy Cope at 865-1646.

• • •

The Sunflower Sectional Bridge Tournament of the American Contract Bridge League was Nov. 14-16 at the Lawrence Holidome. Eighteen competitions were held between Friday morning and Sunday evening with more than 200 tables of players participating.

Local players who won or placed at the event were John Hickey, Craig Huneke, Terry Tolar, Jim Zhang, Ed Howard, Mona Bell, Carol Ball, John Turner, Betty Collier, Shari Krentzel, Grant Sutton, Wanna Roszel, Nita Scales, Bebe Huxtable, Jean Otney, Eldon Herd, Jolene Andersen, Paul Heitzman, Bobby Patton, Mark Osborne, Lois Clark, Emily Foster, Jerry Sloan, Ann Thompson, Yvonne Hedges, Charles Hedges, Jeff Mermin, Jeane Landry, James Gunn, Clarice Broz, Chris Lane, Virginia Eddy, Lynn Hui, Catherine Blumenfeld, Shirley Reese, Sally Taylor, John Fittell and Adelaide Nyquist.

• • •

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game of Nov. 12 was directed by Chris Lane. The North-South winners were Ed Howard and Ed Fittell, first in A; Mark Osborn and Bobby Patton, second in A and first in B; Patricia Lechtenberg and Chris Lane, third in A and second in B; Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor, fourth in A and third in B; and Albert Ballard and Earle Core, first in C.

The East-West winners were Paul Heitzman and David Piro, first in A; Shirley Reese and Lois Clark, second in A and first in B; Catherine Blumenfeld and Grant Sutton, third in A and second in B; Robert Huffman and Shari Krentzel, fourth in A and third in B; and Mona Bell and Carol Ball, first in C.

• • •

The Thursday Morning Duplicate Mentor Club’s game of Nov. 13 was directed by Chris Lane. The winners were Pat Kells and Ed Howard, first; Jean Khatib and Chris Lane, second; Patricia Lechtenberg and Julia Brooks, third; Charles Hedges and Arkie Vaughn, fourth; and Angie Davidson and Lester Dalton tied in fifth with Dick Shaffer and Ann Thompson.

• • •

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game of Nov. 17 was directed by Virginia Seaver. The North-South winners were Harry Shaffer and Jambo Zhang, first in A; Vince Nordberg and Jim Stewart, second in A and first in B and C; Kent McCullough and John Fittell, third in A; Lois Jones and Chris Lane, fourth in A; and Barbara Merriam and Dorothy Netson, second in B and C.

The East-West winners were Craig Huneke and Jeff Mermin, first in A, B and C; John Hickey and Grant Sutton, second in A; Lois Clark and Jerry Sloan, third in A; Lynn Hui and Jeane Landry, fourth in A; and Patrick Musick and Jolene Andersen, second in B and C.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.