Archive for Saturday, November 8, 2008

Around and about

November 8, 2008


Kansas University will honor area recipients of its most prestigious scholarships during half-time of the KU-Texas game on Nov. 15 in Memorial Stadium.

More than 680 undergraduates are recipients of one of six top scholarships offered at KU: National Merit, National Achievement, National Hispanic, Perfect Achievement, Summerfield and the Watkins-Berger.

KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway has invited the scholars and their parents to attend the Scholars Day on the Field recognition program. The students and their parents will receive complimentary tickets and meet with the chancellor and other university officials during a pre-game buffet at the Kansas Union.

Area scholars include:

¢ Baldwin City -Andrew Bartlow, Summerfield; Katherine Beall, Watkins-Berger; Sonja Combest, National Merit; Christian Elniff, Summerfield; Lynne Lammers, National Merit; and Emily Miller, Watkins-Berger.

¢ Basehor - Cory Bunting, Summerfield.

¢ Eudora - Kayci Vickers, Watkins-Berger.

¢ Lawrence - Christine Allen, Watkins-Berger; Stuart Bell, Summerfield; Christopher Bohling, National Merit; Lillian Boyce, Watkins-Berger; Emelia Brooke, Watkins-Berger; Cali Burke, Watkins-Berger; Marie Byleen-Higley, National Merit; Xander Casad, National Merit; Benjamin Chapin, National Merit; Brenna Daldorph, National Merit; James Davis, National Merit; Laura Drees, National Merit; Carol Fittell, Watkins-Berger; Michael Fonkert, Summerfield; Amanda Frederick, Watkins-Berger; Joshua Frederick, National Merit; Anthony Frei, National Merit; Gregory Gaumer, National Merit; Monica Gonzalez-Candanedo, National Hispanic; David Green, Summerfield; Linda Green, National Merit; Mitchell Haverty, National Merit; Brenna Hawley, Watkins-Berger; Ellen Hernly, Watkins-Berger; Marie Hull, Watkins-Berger; Andrew Jack, Summerfield; Stephanie Jian, National Merit; Lydia Krug, Watkins-Berger; Gina Lorenz, Watkins-Berger; Nathan Markham, Summerfield; Lindsey McDaniel, Watkins-Berger; Emily Miller, Watkins-Berger; Erika O'Shea, National Merit; Elizabeth Orzulak, Watkins-Berger; Amanda Pierce, National Hispanic; Audrey Seybert, Watkins-Berger; Kevin Song, Summerfield; Jeffrey Standing, National Merit; Hannah Vick, Watkins-Berger; Hunter Vore, Summerfield; Chao Wang, Summerfield; Thora Whitmore, National Merit; Gerald Wohletz, Summerfield; Margaret Yoe, Watkins-Berger; and Daniel Zehr, National Merit.

¢ Lecompton - Claire Hinrichsen, Watkins-Berger.

¢ Linwood - Caitlin Rose, National Merit.

¢ Ottawa - Jennifer Harness, National Merit; and Megan Ketchum, Watkins-Berger.

¢ Tecumseh - Doug Brady, Summerfield; Kaitlin Carr, Watkins-Berger; and Adam Vossen, Summerfield.

¢ Tonganoxie - John Davis, Summerfield; Tyler Gurss, Summerfield; Spencer Seman, Summerfield; Justin Smith, National Merit; and James Young, Summerfield.

¢ ¢ ¢

Herb Werst will celebrate his 80th birthday with an open house from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Sunday at the home of Clay and Carolee Meseraull, 1062 E. 1400 Road. Herb Werst own and operated Countryside Floors for over 30 years. Family and friends are invited.

Megynn Blanchard, an English major from Lawrence, was named one of four students to receive scholarships from the Ladies Education Society at Grinnell College in Iowa. The Society, the college's oldest surviving organization, annually awards grants to reduce students' loans on the basis of academic excellence, character, leadership and financial need.

¢ ¢ ¢

Tanya and Jeff Bartels, Olathe, announce the adoption of their son, Ryan Paul Bartels, born Sept. 20, 2008, in Kansas City, Mo.

Ryan has a brother, Derek, 2.

His maternal grandparents are Larry and Iris Graham, Deerfield.

His paternal grandparents are Vernon and Ruth Ellen Bartels, Lawrence.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.