Archive for Sunday, November 2, 2008

Baldwin girls win in 4A

November 2, 2008


— For the second straight year, the Baldwin High girls cross country team left with a Class 4A state title.

Baldwin cruised to the team victory as it scored 46 points. Frontier League rival De Soto was the runner-up with 96 points. Wamego placed third with 101.

Four BHS girls medaled. They were senior Corinna Papps (third), junior Connor Twombly (fourth), senior Calleigh Durr (10th) and freshman Elizabeth Sigvaldson (19th).

De Soto sophomore Lacey Erickson was the Wildcats' only individual medalist. She finished sixth.

On the boys' side, Baldwin placed third as a team, and De Soto finished fifth. The Bulldogs scored 105 points, while the Wildcats totaled 153. Mulvane won the state title for the second straight year with 43 points.

BHS sophomore Tony Weiss led the Bulldogs with a runner-up finish. Senior Connor Wright was the other medalist for Baldwin as he placed seventh. De Soto senior Trey Lind finished 19th.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.