Archive for Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Moore, Moran file for new terms in House

May 21, 2008


U.S. Reps. Dennis Moore and Jerry Moran have guaranteed their spots on the ballot as they run for re-election this year.

Both filed for office this week by paying a $1,672 fee with the Kansas secretary of state's office.

Moore, a Democrat, represents the 3rd District, which covers part of Lawrence and the state's portion of the Kansas City metropolitan area. He was first elected in 1998.

Moran, a Republican, is seeking another term in the 1st District of western Kansas. He was first elected in 1996.

Rep. Todd Tiahrt, a Republican who represents the 4th District of south-central Kansas, filed for re-election in March.

Rep. Nancy Boyda, a Democrat who represents the 2nd District of eastern Kansas, has submitted petitions. But the secretary of state's office is still validating signatures on those petitions.


Frank Smith 10 years, 1 month ago

Only one nominee for a federal seat in Kansas has ever filed petitions in lieu of the filing fee in the last 15 years. It was Boyda in 2004 and presaged her win over the do-nothing incumbent. Looks like a repeat!

Commenting has been disabled for this item.