Archive for Sunday, May 4, 2008

5 regions declared disaster zones

May 4, 2008


— Myanmar's state-run television says five regions including Yangon have been declared disaster zones after Tropical Cyclone Nargis hit the country.

The military run Myaddy television station says Yangon, Irrawaddy, Bago, Karen and Mon states all were heavily damaged by Saturday's cyclone, which packed wind up to 120-mph.

Witness said the storm knocked out electricity to much of Yangon and disrupted Internet and phone service.

The government has not provided any information on casualties or the level of damage to the regions.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.