Archive for Saturday, March 15, 2008

Around and about

March 15, 2008


Nathan Lindsey, Evan Ferrier and Benjamin Greenberg, all of Lawrence, were named to the dean's list for the fall semester 2007 at Grinnell College in Grinnell, Iowa. To make the dean's list, students must have a grade point average of 3.75 or above.


Emma Mercer and Allie Freidell, both of Lawrence, were named to the dean's list for the fall semester 2007 at Oklahoma City University. Mercer and Freidell earned a grade point average of 3.5 to 3.749.


Free State High School won the overall first place team trophy in the high school division and a first place plaque in class 6A at the Kansas Scholastic Chess Association's Kansas State Chess Championships on March 8 at Blue Valley High School in Stilwell. Lawrence High School finished fifth in class 6A.

Southwest Junior High won the first place team trophy in the junior high division. In the elementary division, Quail Run and Cordley schools claimed second and fourth place trophies, respectively. Southwest's Jason Chang was the first place champion in junior high.

Lawrence medal winners in high school were: Thomas Clark, FSHS, fourth; Thomas Reams, FSHS, fifth; Peter Lesslie, FSHS, seventh; Sean Stenseng, FSHS, 10th; Roy Wedge, LHS, 15th; Keely Stenseng, FSHS, 18th; Kellen Cross, FSHS, 30th; and Nate McFadden, LHS, 58th.

Other medal winners in junior high were: Luke Lesslie, SWJH, third; Alan Shi, SWJH, 11th; Adriana Perez-Conesa, SWJH, 12th; Lucas Suchy, South Junior High, 24th; Cal Young, SJH, 28th; Andrei Elliott, SWJH, 42nd; James Vaughn, Ottawa Middle School, 63rd; Daraham Patel, OMS, 64th; Zack Curran, Central Junior High, 71st; and Sudhanshu Manda, SWJH, 78th.

Medal winners in elementary were: Sam Stephens, Quail Run, third; Eddie Wilson, Cordley, fourth; Aaron Simon, Quail Run, 12th; Cole Reams, Quail Run, 13th; Kaustubh Nimkar, Sunflower, 15th; Siyin Li, Hillcrest, 22nd; Owen McFadden, Wakarusa Valley, 24th; Apramay Mishra, Sunflower, 29th; Vinnie Barker, Sunflower, 32nd; Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, 34th; Colin Bradt, Cordley, 37th; Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 43rd; McCarthy Fitch, Cordley, 46th; Sam Beaulieu, Cordley, 47th; and Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, 50th.


Joel and Elisha Bishop, Olathe, announce the birth of their son, Kai Arthur Bishop, born Feb. 18, 2008, at Menorah Medical Center in Overland Park. His maternal grandparents are Glen and Nancy White, Lawrence. His paternal grandparents are Jim and Judy Bishop, Perry. His great-grandparent is Fern Schnoor, Coffeyville.


Rebecca Cravens Dirks and Boning Zhang were named to the dean's list for the fall 2007 semester at Washington University in St. Louis. Dirks is a graduate of Lawrence High School. Zhang is a graduate of Free State High School. To qualify for the dean's list, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or above.


Students of the Month for February 2008 at Oskaloosa High School were Tiffany Taylor, 11th grade, and Derek Brey, Sarah Newman and Megan Taylor, all in 12th grade. The students will be treated to lunch at Carlos O'Kelly's in Lawrence by the OHS Future Business Leaders of America.


Kirsten Baggett, Tonganoxie, Chris Hubbard, Winchester, Jake Narverud, Meriden, and Miles Shirk, Wellsville, are members of Emporia State University's A Cappella Choir, one of the featured attractions of this year's Kansas Music Educators Association state convention in Wichita. The choir performed March 1 at the Century II Convention Center's Mary Jane Teall Theater.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.