Archive for Monday, July 21, 2008

Voters have until 7 p.m today to register for Aug. 5 primary

Today marked the voter registration deadline for the August primary election.

July 21, 2008


Today is the last day to register to be eligible to vote in the Aug. 5 primary election in Kansas.

The Douglas County Clerk's office at the courthouse, 1100 Mass., will be open until 7 p.m. today to accept registration applications for county residents.

All applications that are mailed to the clerk's office must be postmarked with today's date and sent to: Douglas County Election Officer, 1100 Mass. St., Lawrence, KS 66044.

Applications also can be downloaded at the county clerk's Web site. Completed applications can also be sent via fax to the clerk's office, (785) 832-5192, or by email,, sometime today.

Today is also the last day for voters affiliated with a political party to switch to another party.

Democrats and Republicans who would like to vote for candidates in the other party's primary must change their registration by the end of the day today.

Independents, however, can change their registration to Republican at the polling places or they can ask for the Democratic ballot in order to vote in those contests.

Registered voters can view sample ballots before they go to the polls at the elections Web site.

Advance voting for the primary at the courthouse is ongoing until noon Aug. 4.

Here's a list of area races on the ballot for the primary:


¢ U.S. Senate: Jim Slattery and Lee Jones, Democrats.

¢ House District 2: Lynn Jenkins and Jim Ryun, Republicans.

¢ House District 3: Nick Jordan and Paul Showen, Republicans.

Kansas State Board of Education

¢ District 4: Alan Detrich and Robert Meissner, Republicans.

Douglas County Commission

¢ 2nd District: Ken Adkinson and Nancy Thellman, Democrats; Grant Eichhorn and David Brown, Republicans.

¢ 3rd District: Ken Grotewiel and Clenece Hills, Democrats; John Tacha and Jim Flory, Republicans.

Jefferson County

¢ 2nd District Commission: David Christy and Roy Dunnaway, Republicans.

¢ 3rd District Commission: Francis Grollmes, Ronald Herring and Fairley McCain, Democrats; LaVerne Clark and Richard Malm, Republicans.

¢ County Attorney: Mike Hayes and Caleb Stegall, Republicans.

Leavenworth County

¢ 3rd District Commission: John Flower, Francis Hurla, Tony Klamm, Bill Merkel, Beverly Oroke, Dave Taylor and Marvin Torneden, Republicans.

¢ County Attorney: Todd Thompson and Deb Snider, Republicans.

¢ State Representative, 42nd District: Ted Ingerson and Connie O'Brien, Republicans.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.