Archive for Sunday, July 13, 2008

Former Jayhawk dominates LAGA Big Event

Despite ‘average golf,’ Roberts wins again

Former Kansas University golfer Conrad Roberts chips onto the 18th green. Roberts won the LAGA Big Event, which concluded Sunday at Eagle Bend Golf Course.

Former Kansas University golfer Conrad Roberts chips onto the 18th green. Roberts won the LAGA Big Event, which concluded Sunday at Eagle Bend Golf Course.

July 13, 2008


For yet another year, Conrad Roberts can claim to be the best golfer in Lawrence.

Roberts won his third consecutive Lawrence Amateur Golf Association Big Event Open Division championship after shooting a 1-under-par 71 on Sunday at Eagle Bend Golf Course.

"I'm happy it ended up with a win at the end," said Roberts, who finished with a two-day total of 150. "After the way I played (Saturday), I didn't think I'd be leading, but today I played better. It just came through. I was lucky that someone else didn't step up and play real top-notch golf, because I played pretty average golf, to be honest. But it was enough, thankfully."

The former Kansas University golfer finished with a nine-stroke advantage over Chris Hutchens, Mason Dick and John Catlin after holding just a two-stroke lead heading into Sunday.

Things were still fairly tight after the first nine holes Sunday. After Roberts bogeyed the 10th hole and Hutchens birdied the 11th, Roberts finally kicked it in high gear.

"That was a good kick in the butt for me on 10," Roberts said. "It woke me up because I'm 2-over (for the day) at that point, and the next few holes are birdie holes.

"I was like, 'This is ridiculous. You're 2-over, you're not playing horribly, but 2-over at that point, you're kind of giving it back to the field.' : So sometimes a bogey helps you, kind of wakes you up a little bit."

To top off the day, Roberts eagled the final hole after having bogeyed the par-3 eighth.

"The last hole was fun. I hit a good tee shot right where I wanted it," Roberts said. "And then it was a perfect 5-wood for me. It's one of those few shots that you have in your head. You see it, envision it, and it just came off. So that was a fun way to finish the day."

Hutchens, who played golf at KU in the early '80s, won a three-man playoff for second place on the first playoff hole by sticking his second shot less than two feet from the hole.

"I think that was just kind of exciting. Normally you just split the gift certificates or whatever," said Hutchens, who used an 8-iron from 159 yards out. "So when the young kids wanted the playoff, I kind of said, 'What the heck?' and just went out there, and for some reason or another I was just relaxed and ended up hitting a good shot, and it went close."

Mason Dick, a Baldwin High senior-to-be, beat John Catlin on the fifth playoff hole when Catlin conceded with Dick needing only to two-putt from five feet to take third.

Mike Grosdidier topped Dennis Gisel by six strokes to win the Senior Championship Division.

Carol Rau defeated her only opponent, good friend Sidney Garrett, in the Women's Championship Division.


Men's Open

Conrad Roberts79-71-150

Chris Hutchens83-76-159

Mason Dick81-78-159

John Catlin83-76-159

Steve Randall83-78-161

Camren Flanders84-81-165

Eric Herman87-81-168

Spencer Scott90-77-169

Jake Carpenter90-80-170

Cameron Hershiser91-83-174

Men's Champion

Chuck Junge81-74-155

Stephen Morgan82-77-159

Brian Karasek83-78-161

B.J. Bailey83-80-163

Troy Gregory86-81-167

Neal Ezell88-80-168

Dave Severn93-76-169

Connor Clutman92-81-173

Men's A

Tyler Kahn 82-79-161

William Stallworth84-82-166

Gary Dick 81-86-167

Brandon Urban89-82-171

Matt Grammar95-78-173

Carl Jensen95-82-177

Kevin Morgison 92-86-178

Drew Elser 92-93-185

Ben Neuenswander95-90-185

Jeff Brooks95-102-197

Greg Windholz97-94-191

Daniel O'Connell98-98-196

Deam Freeman96-105-201

Men's B

Jeffrey Scott87-81-168

Maurice Monteau92-83-175

Scott Swedland91-86-177

Ron Colvert90-87-177

Tom Keegan100-80-180

Michael Farve89-92-181

Mike Martin99-86-185

Matt Hall97-90-187

Bob Leland104-90-194

Ray Buckingham106-110-216

Men's C

Zak Kolich91-88-179

Alan Garcia95-90-185

Phillip Renick106-98-204

Mike Faria118-102-220

Robb Ferguson147-123-270

Men's Senior Champ

Mike Grosdidier76-71-147

Dennis Gisel80-73-153

Stewart Platz76-79-155

Scott Buxton75-83-158

John Emerson83-77-160

Jamie Stansel83-78-161

Galen Smith85-77-162

Jack Schreiner90-81-171

Men's Senior A

Curtis Anderson86-86-172

Tim Schnitker88-85-173

Brian Edwards92-83-175

David Greenamyer92-84-176

Lynn Habluetzel92-88-180

Randy Gebhards95-91-186

Mel Raynew102-96-198

Men's Senior B

David Anderson85-88-173

Jim O'Connel90-89-179

Darrel Smith98-86-184

Bob Kocour97-111-208

David Hudson107-105-212

Mike Miller110-102-212

Men's Super Champ

Jim Hagan82-74-156

Jimmy Hill83-84-167

Matt Dengler90-83-173

Rich Davis95-86-181

Men's Super A

Tom Taylor84-74-158

Walt Kihm84-79-163

John Sell97-82-179

Tim Van Leer95-84-179

Bill Smith92-82-179

David Lerner93-87-180

Ted Brecheiser96-85-181

Frank DeHart95-87-182

Men's Super B

Eddie Scholtes92-81-173

Jim Lynch89-86-175

Norm Slade93-85-178

Ron Hurst101-95-196

Robert Banks102-99-201

Burgess Tapedo112-106-218

George Stan121-103-224

Deacon ThomasDNF

Women's Champion

Carol Rau79-83-162

Sidney Garrett88-86-174

Women's B

Michele Johnson87-94-181

Paula Schnitker93-102-195

LouAnn Gebhards102-96-198

Darlene Kinion107-101-208

Joan Wells107-119-226

Dae Curtiss119-126-245


newt 9 years, 11 months ago

great tournament! wish LAGA would have more!!!

chapdaddy 9 years, 11 months ago

Congrats Dobler! Pretty soon this will be called the "Conrad Roberts Invitational". :)

Commenting has been disabled for this item.