Archive for Saturday, January 19, 2008

Around and about

January 19, 2008


Lucas Wempe, Lawrence, was named to the President's Honor Roll for grades achieved during the fall 2007 semester at Seward County Community College in Liberal.

Wempe earned a grade-point average of 4.0.


Cameron Hershiser, Law-rence, was named to the President's Honor Roll for grades achieved during the fall 2007 semester at Dodge City Community College.

Hershiser earned a grade-point average of 3.8 or above.


Alex Webster was named to the Dean's Honor Roll for grades achieved during the fall 2007 semester at Oklahoma State University.

Webster is a 2007 graduate of Lawrence High School.


The Quail Run Chess Tournament was conducted Jan. 12 at Ottawa Middle School. Free State High School won first place in the K-12 division, Southwest Junior High School took first in the K-8 division, and Quail Run School won the K-3 first-place division.

In the K-6 section, Quail Run finished second, and Sunflower School edged out Cordley School on tie-breaks for third.

Individually, Free State's Peter Lesslie and Cordley's Eddie Wilson took first in the K-12 and K-6 sections, respectively.

Other Lawrence players who received medals in K-12 include Thomas Clark, FSHS, second; Kellen Cross, FSHS, third; Thomas Reams, FSHS, sixth; Keely Stenseng, FSHS, 12th; Alan Shi, Southwest, 16th; Roy Wedge, Lawrence High School, 20th; Nate McFadden, LHS, 25th; and Jessica Newman, LHS, 30th.

In K-8: Jason Chang, Southwest, second; Luke Lesslie, Southwest, fourth; Lucas Suchy, South Junior High, eighth; Adriana Perez-Conesa, Southwest, 10th; Venkata Maladi, Southwest, 12th; Cal Young, South, 14th; Andrei Elliott, Southwest, 16th; Sudhanshu Manda, Southwest, 19th; Nicholas Shaheed, Southwest, 20th; Zhen Chen, Southwest, 24th; and Lucy Pennewell, Central Junior High, 31st.

In K-6: Cole Reams, Quail Run, fourth; Sam Stephens, Quail Run, fifth; Aaron Simon, Quail Run, sixth; Apramay Mishra, Sunflower, eighth; Siyin Li, Hillcrest, 11th; Laura Neilsen, Wakarusa Valley, 12th; Vinnie Barker, Sunflower, 13th; Kaustubh Nimkar, Sunflower, 14th; Owen McFadden, Wakarusa Valley, 15th; Jake Burdett, Cordley, 16th; McCarthy Fitch, Cordley, 18th; Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, 24th; Jessica Ferguson, Quail Run, 26th; James Skala, Sunflower, 27th; Aimee Neilsen, Wakarusa Valley, 29th; Maxwell Briggs, Wakarusa Valley, 30th; and Nathaniel Hoops, Quail Run, 32nd.

In K-3: Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, second; Jonathan Lesslie, Quail Run, fourth; Sam Hambleton, Quail Run, 10th; Jackson McCabe Maher, Cordley, 11th; James Faith, Wakarusa Valley, 13th; Michael Tracy, Wakarusa Valley, 15th; Eileen Huang, Quail Run, 17th; Ryan Flakus, Quail Run, 18th; Madison Reams, Quail Run, 19th; Madison Murphy, Quail Run, 20th; Shrivatsa Malladi, Langston Hughes, 23rd; and Catherine Murphy, Quail Run, 24th.


Josh DeBoy and Rachael Nicole Moore DeBoy, Cibolo, Texas, announce the birth of their son, Jackson Nathaniel DeBoy, born Dec. 28, 2007, in San Antonio.

Jackson has a sister, Summer Nicole, 2.

His maternal grandparents are Scott and Sheryl Moore, Lawrence. His paternal grandparents are Tim and Lisa DeBoy, Lewisville, Colo., and Paul and Linda Vesperry, Portland, Ind.

Great-grandparents are Link and Sue Hughes, Perry, and Ray and Lorraine Mohl, Mandan, N.D.


Chad and Katherine Welter, Shawnee, announce the birth of their daughter, Addison Mae Welter, born Dec. 26, 2007, in Merriam.

Addison has a brother, Braden, 2.

Her maternal grandparents are Dwayne and Karen Sackman, Normal, Ill. Her paternal grandparents are Dick and Kathy Stuntz, Lawrence, and Alex and Penni Welter, The Woodlands, Texas.

Great-grandparents are Vera Cochran, Galen and Betty Sackman and Jack and Marge Barham.


Lawrence Barn Dance Association will offer a community barn dance beginning at 7:30 p.m. today at Woodlawn School, 508 Elm St. in North Lawrence. A beginner's lesson will start at 6:45 p.m.

The caller will be Jerome Grisanti, and music will be provided by the Euphoria Stringband, which features Jim Krause, Doug DuBois, Pat Dickey, Pete Gilbreath, Dick Powers and Reva Nimz. Admission is $7 for adults, $3 for students and $2 for youths under 16.

No partner is necessary. The dances are taught and prompted, and the evening will begin with easier dances. Wear clean shoes that won't mark the floor.

For more information, visit, send e-mail to or call 749-1356.


Members of Central Junior High School's Science Olympiad team received awards at a recent tournament. Medal and ribbon winners include Grace Clark and Forrest Munro, first place; Kaity Melvin and Scott Richardson, second; Erica Crandon and Olivia Marshall, third and fifth place; Jacob Wilson, Paige Miller, Dale Roussel and Ian Gent, fifth place.

Other top 10 finishers included Cal Pfannenstiel, Claire Murphy-Beach and Willie Johnson. Earning honorable mentions were Katy Frazier, Natasha Carr, Kylie Puckett and Carmel Sivron.

Cindy Wilbur coaches the team.


James Braden won Central Junior High School's 2008 Geography Bee. He plans to take a written test that could qualify him for the state Geography Bee.


Ashley Coffman and Rachel Gardner, both of Lawrence, were named to the Dean's Honor Roll for the fall 2007 semester at Bethany College in Lindsborg.

They earned a grade-point average of at least 3.5.


Bernadette Drees, Law-rence, was named to the President's Honor Roll for the fall 2007 semester at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, Mo.

Drees earned a grade-point average of 4.0.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.