Scouting news

Two Lawrence Boy Scouts were awarded the National Certificate of Merit for their actions in dealing with a fire. Matthew Dominguez and his brother Andrew Dominguez saw smoke coming from the kitchen of their church, caused by a pizza box left in an oven. With their sister Alexis, they first tried to extinguish the fire. Unable to do so, they alerted church personnel to get others out of the building.

The National Court of Honor awards the Certificate of Merit to Scouts who have performed significant acts of service that exemplify the values and leadership taught in the Scouting program.

Glen Sharp of the Pelathe District Boy Scout Committee presented the Scouts with certificates and medals in recognition of their award at the annual District Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner on Jan. 31 at Lawrence Country Club. The boys’ parents, Carrie and Javier Dominguez, pinned the medals on their uniforms.

Andrew is a Webelos Scout in Pack 3071 and Matthew is a First Class Scout in Boy Scout Troop 52.

¢Pelathe District honored 24 Boy Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank in 2007 during its annual Recognition Dinner on Jan. 31 at Lawrence Country Club. Cotton Smith, a member of the Boy Scouts Heart of America Council executive committee and a chieftain in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say honorary camping society, charged the new Eagle Scouts to carry on time-honored values associated with Scouting. He compared today’s Eagle Scouts with chivalrous knights who stood up for honor and loyalty, respected others and extended a helping hand.

Col. Lee Tafanelli, representing Maj. Gen. Tod Bunting of the Kansas National Guard, presented personalized letters and congratulatory certificates to each of the Eagle Scouts. John Sayler, of the Kansas chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution, announced that Brandon Mailand, Troop 52, is this year’s recipient of the organization’s annual scholarship awarded to an Eagle Scout.

Keith Wood, district advancement chairman, and Richard Bailey, assistant chairman, introduced each Eagle Scout, who was asked to tell about his service project. Wood reported that this group of Eagle projects contributed more than 2,500 service hours to the community.

Eagle Scouts from Lawrence include Jack Berkowitz, Tim Barta, David Long and Brandon Mailand, Troop 52; Robert Larrabee, Stephen May, Devon Griffin and David Teefey, Troop 53; Ted Olson, Travis Andregg, Andrew Sigler and Scott Ollila, Troop 55; John Bergman, Kevin Workman and Joe Stogsdill, Troop 59; Trevor Davies, Troop 60; Todd Lee, Troop 158; and Mitchell Gill, Varsity Crew 6058. Scouts from Eudora were Justin Male, A.J. Lavery and David Lewis, Troop 64. Scouts from Baldwin City were Evan Wilson, Cameron Scruggs and Jake Hogsett, Troop 65.

To earn the Eagle Rank, a Scout must work through six advancement steps while learning new skills. The requirements for Eagle include a minimum of six months served in a significant leadership position in the troop, completion of at least 21 merit badges, and to plan and carry out a community service project that will demonstrate the Scout’s leadership skills.