Archive for Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Seven Wildcats on HAAC first team

December 3, 2008


Baker University’s first playoff football team in 15 years was rewarded with seven first-team all-Heart of America Athletic Conference football selections, and junior running back Richie Bryant was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Bryant, from Louisiana, Mo., was the conference’s leading rusher with 1,335 yards and a school-record 22 rushing touchdowns. He also set school records for points in a season (168) and overall touchdowns (28). Bryant led the NAIA in scoring.

Other first-team selections were junior quarterback Mack Brown, Liberty, Mo.; senior wide receiver Tyrell Spain, San Diego; senior offensive lineman Andy Bibb, Springdale, Ark.; junior defensive lineman Levi Calhoun, Oklahoma City; senior cornerback Eric Allen, San Diego; and sophomore safety Colton Miller; Largo, Fla.

Junior offensive lineman Clint Benge, Lenexa, was a second-team pick.

Defensive lineman Philip Weinmaster, a Free State High graduate, was named to the third team.

Other third-team selections for the Wildcats were defensive lineman Alphaeus Williams, St. Petersburg, Fla.; kicker Derek Doerfler, Lee’s Summit, Mo.; and wide receiver Brad Fawcett, Grapevine, Texas.

Offensive lineman Phil Collins, Shawnee; defensive back Rodney Harris, Olathe; defensive back Herb Askew, Kingman, Ariz.; and linebacker Spencer Curran, Kansas City, Kan.; received honorable mention.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.