Archive for Saturday, August 9, 2008

Club news

August 9, 2008


University Club Bridge announces results of its Aug. 2 meeting. Hosts were Dale and Wanda Kring.

Blue winners were Paul Jordan, first; Dale Kring, second; Willie Stoltenberg, third; Alice Akin, fourth; and Joan Huber, fifth.

Pink winners were Wanda Kring, first; Jo Anne Hicks, second; Bebe Huxtable, third; Edna Galle, fourth; and Darlene Schneider, fifth.

¢The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club's game on July 30 was directed by Virginia Seaver. The North-South winners were Jeane Landry and Harry Shaffer, first; Wanda Durbin and Julia Brooks, second; Klee Zaricky and Betty Collier, third in A, and first in B; and Nita Scales and Mona Bell, second in B.

The East-West winners were Paul Heitzman and David Piro, first; Adelaide Nyquist and Ed Howard, second; Bobby Patton and Eleanor Patton, third in A, first in B, and first in C; and Catherine Blumenfeld and Grant Sutton, second in B.

¢The Thursday Morning Mentor Duplicate Bridge game on July 31 utilized the Howell movement and was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were Eldon Herd and Angie Davidson, first; Virginia Seaver and Pat Lechtenberg, second; Earle Core and Julia Brooks, third; Mary Cornwell and Ann Thompson, fourth; and Jean Khatib and Barbara McCorkle, fifth.

¢The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club's game on Aug. 1 was directed by Virginia Seaver. The North-South winners were Chris Lane and Yvonne Hedges, first; Harry Shaffer and Jeane Landry, second; and John Fittell and Kent McCullough, third.

The East-West winners were Virginia Seaver and Sally Taylor, first; Brandon Humpert and Tom Enkosky, second; Grant Sutton and Klee Zaricky, third in A, and second in B; and Lois Clark and Catherine Blumenfeld, third in B.

¢The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club's game of Aug. 4 was directed by Virginia Seaver. The North-South winners were Harry Shaffer and Terry Tolar, first; Chris Lane and Virginia Seaver, second. Lois Clark and Jeane Landry, third in A; and David Leitch and Steven Brodmerkle tied for first place in B with Pat Burghstahler and Margarete Hartman.

The East-West winners were David Piro and Brian Barrett, first; Jim Stewart and Emily Foster, second in A, and first in B; Eldon Herd and Jerry Sloan, third in A; and Carl Mibeck and Jack Mibeck, second in B.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.