Archive for Saturday, August 2, 2008

Scouting news

August 2, 2008


Scouts and families from Troop 59 and Venture Crew 2052 attended the annual canoe and rafting trip down the Niangua River Oasis in Missouri on May 16-18. There were 124 participants, which included 74 family members, 46 Troop 59 Scouts, and four venturing Crew 2052 Scouts.

Scouts who participated: Jeffrey Ahle, Chip Allen, Ryan Bellinger, Brandon Botkin, Conner Caldwell, Henry Chapman, Matthew Day, Frank Depenbusch, George Depenbusch, Jacob DiVilbiss, Sam Dowell, Sam Evans, T.J. Everett, Patrick Fay, John Fredrickson, Harrison Helmick, Derrick Kappelman, Nathan Kappelman, Riley King, Alex Kong, Trevor Leslie, Justin Lewis, Logan Littrell, Luke Oberrieder, Sam Oliver, Geoffrey Peard, Luke Peirce, Jack Powell, Scott Ragan, Jake Rogers, Levi Sedlock, Ben Seybert, Josh Seybert, Tanner Smith, Taylor Smith, Keifer Stellwagon, Joe Stogsdill, Keagan Taylor, Kyle Vogelsang, Derrick Weishaar, Evan Williams, Reid Williams and James Windholz.

Venturing Crew 2052 who participated: Erica Hernly, Elizabeth Love, Brianna Spence and Kelsey Taylor.

Congratulations to the new Scouts who were inducted and received a Troop 59 Scout neckerchief. New Scouts present were George Depenbusch, Jacob DiVilbiss, Justin Lewis, Logan Littrell, Sam Oliver, Geoffrey Peard, Jack Powell, Tanner Smith, Taylor Smith, Kyle Vogelsang and Evan Williams.


Scouts from Troop 59, chartered to First Presbyterian Church, participated in a 10-day summer camp at the H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation near Osceola, Mo.

Activities included merit badges in climbing, swimming, lifesaving, environmental science, woodcarving, leatherwork, geology and mammal study; a five-mile hike to Scott's General Store in Iconium; rifle shooting and archery; three campfires with Scouts performing skits and three ceremonies for the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, the honor camping society at Camp Bartle.

Several Scouts completed rank advancements: Tenderfoots - George Depenbusch, Justin Lewis, and Jack Powell; Tenderfoot Second Class - Jacob DiVilbiss, Ty Hartman, Sam Oliver, Tanner Smith, Taylor Smith and Evan Williams; First Class - T. J. Everett and Jakob Walter; Star Scouts - Josh Hodge and Jake Rogers; Life Scouts - Chase Low and Frank Depenbusch; Foxman Recognition by the Tribe of Mic-O-Say - Matthew Day, Frank Depenbusch, James Fredrickson, Liam Inbody and Reid Williams; Braves advancing to the rank of Warrior in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say - Connor Caldwell, Sam Corkins, Patrick Fay, Harrison Helmick, Riley King, Alex Kong, Trevor Leslie, James Windholz and Dom Reiske, Troop 52, also attended; Orange Paint of a Firebuilder - Henry Chapman, John Fredrickson and Derrick Weishaar; and Green Paint of a TomTom Beater - Keagan Taylor.

Rich Bailey, a member of the Troop 59 Committee and also the assistant advancement chairman for the Pelathe District, was elevated to White Paint as a Sachem in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, a member of the governing Tribal Council.

Gary Weishaar served as the Camp Scoutmaster for the session, and was assisted by eight other full-time adult leaders, plus 17 other adult leaders who were in camp for a period of two to seven days.


Cub Scouts and Webelos from Pack 3059, chartered to First Presbyterian Church in Lawrence, had an active summer of camping. Scouts Thomas Davis, Stephen Johnson, Hunter Krom, Daniel Page and Stephen Teska attended Bear Camp on June 27-28 at Camp Theodore Naish near Bonner Springs. Activities included building a tool box, shooting BB guns and arrows, and swimming in the Pirate Cove pool. Webelos Chris Geiss, Moises Jones, Dalton Hurt, Jamie Messer, and Ted Savich attended at Camp Naish July 6-8. Activities included swimming, rock climbing, emergency preparedness, and they also worked on Forester and Outdoorsman activity pins.


Cub Scout Pack 3057, chartered by the St. John Catholic School PTO held its bridging and advancement on May 14 at St. John's. Before the meeting, the scouts and their families had pizza.

Scouts bridging to Webelos II included Brandon Bunting, Gabriel Magee, Aidan Schaplowsky, Alex Waite, Ben Witte and Sam Witte.

Scouts who advanced in rank Bear are John Anderson, Andrew Bireta, Joshua Burrichter, Sam Campbell, Noah Funk, Ryan Glogau, Ben Hill, Isaac McCracken, Daniel Murray, Liam Rausch and Mark Smith; in rank Wolf - Jimmy Cooper, Stephen Cory, George Haff, Ethan Huslig, Jacob Lashley, Zachary Malsbury and Donovan Tabares; in rank Tiger - Ethan Anderson, Braden Augustine, Bradley Bunting, Jack Burrichter, Connor Gabrielson, Zachary Hill, Joe Loats, Christopher Nau, Zackary Nichol, Reed Pfeifer, Anthony Ramos, Aaron Reed, Davis Reed, Tyler Self, Luke Thonen and Andrew Wallen; and in rank Bobcat - John Milburn. New Tigers joining are Jacob Gengler and Eli Witte.

Scouts, den leaders and adult family members attended Webelos graduation weekend hosted by Troop 52 May 9-11 at Camp Bromelsick.

Webelos I-Cobra and Wolverine Scouts attending were Brandon Bunting, Gabriel Magee, Aidan Schaplowsky, Alex Waite, Ben Witte and Sam Witte; Bear Scouts attending were John Anderson, Andrew Bireta, Ryan Glogau, Ben Hill, Michael Braman and Daniel Murray.

Adults attending were Terry Schaplowsky, Cheryl Witte, Larry Magee, Laurie Magee, Lisa Waite, David Inabinett, Chris Anderson, Rich Bireta, Cyndy Glogau, Keith Braman, Greg Hill and Michael Murray.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.