Archive for Saturday, April 5, 2008

Hansbrough bags awards

Drake’s Davis named top coach

April 5, 2008


— Tyler Hansbrough had a very busy Friday morning on the biggest weekend of his young basketball career.

The North Carolina junior forward was selected the Associated Press' college basketball player of the year, an honor that came less than an hour after he was presented the Oscar Robertson Trophy by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association as their player of the year.

Hansbrough led the Atlantic Coast Conference in scoring (22.8) and rebounding (10.3) as the Tar Heels (36-2) were ranked No. 1 for all but six weeks this season and were the overall top seed for the NCAA Tournament.

Hansbrough was presented the award the day before the Tar Heels play Kansas in the second game of the Final Four.

Drake's Keno Davis was selected coach of the year by the AP, and he, too, had a busy morning as he swept the awards given Friday.

He and his father, Dr. Tom Davis, who won the award in 1987 at Iowa, became the first father and son to win the award.

Hansbrough received 56 votes from the 72-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Freshman Michael Beasley of Kansas State had 15 votes, and junior guard Chris Douglas-Roberts of Memphis got one in the voting conducted before the NCAA Tournament. Hansbrough and Beasley both were unanimous selections as first-team All-Americans.

Davis, whose team won the Missouri Valley Conference regular-season and tournament titles after being picked ninth in the preseason poll, received 29 votes. Bo Ryan, who led Wisconsin to the Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles, was second with 14. Bruce Pearl of Tennessee had six votes, and John Calipari of Memphis and Matt Painter of Purdue each had five.

Davis led Drake to a school-record 28 wins, its first Top 25 ranking since 1975 and its first NCAA Tournament berth since 1971.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.