Archive for Saturday, September 29, 2007

Club news

September 29, 2007


University Bridge Club announces results of its Sept. 22 meeting. Hosts were Donna and Harold Riehm.

Blue winners were Tom Waller, first; Walt Hicks, second; Ray Ikenberry, third; Leonard Fleske, fourth; and Florence McNicoll, fifth. Pink winners were Donna Riehm, first; Dorothy "Dottie" Miller, second; Cathy Waller, third; Mary Fleske, fourth; and Jane Golden, fifth.

¢The Betty Washington Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution met Sept. 22 at Lawrence Presbyterian Manor. After the DAR ritual and flag salute, guests and new members were introduced, followed by the roll call of members.

The president general's message and the National Defense report were read. Officer and committee reports were given. The chapter will send a banner to the wounded members of our armed forces at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center in Germany. The banner has signatures and messages from many Lawrence residents ranging in age from 2 to 100. After the meeting, members took a tour of the Santa Fe Trail markers in Douglas County.

The group's next meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 16 at Lawrence Presbyterian Manor. Speakers will be Glenda Scherbon, a JE Caldwell representative, and Stacy Cope, the chapter's Insignia Committee chairwoman. The topic will be a primer to DAR insignia and pins. For more information, contact Shari Johnson at 843-6199.

¢The Northeast Kansas Unit of the American Contract Bridge League hosted the Jayhawk Regional Tournament on Sept. 19-23 at the Lawrence Holidome. There were nearly 500 participants from 18 states and Canada.

Don Bush and Robert Huffman became Life Master players during the tournament, which featured 29 events for different levels of competition. John Hickey led the team that planned the tournament.

The following local players are listed in the order of master points they earned during the event:

Robert Huffman, Don Bush, Shari Krentzel, Grant Sutton, John Hickey, James Masilamani, Ed Howard, Mark Osborn, Eldon Herd, Jeremy Martin, Jim Zhang, Judy Bevan, Paul Heitzman, Jerry Sloan, Harry Shaffer, Terry Tolar, Clarice Broz, Madelyn Jenks, David Piro, Jeane Landry, Clyde Romer, Lois Jones, Bobby Patton, Carol Ball, Phyllis Brownlee,

Mary Joyce, Jeffrey Nash, Lester Dalton, Julia Dalton, Shirley Reese, Emily Foster, Mona Bell, Judy Hildreth, Margarete Hartman, Barbara Figgins, Ajit Sampat, Charles Hedges, Yvonne Hedges, Dorothy Netson, Chris Lane, Klee Zaricky, Virginia Seaver, Polly Schoning, Dianne Childs, Nita Scales, Michael Magnusson, Donna Johnson, Sally Taylor, Frances Vogel, Barbara McCorkle, Karen Zimmerer, James Gunn, Greg Hazen, Don Brennaman, David Holzman, Wanna Roszel, Bebe Huxtable, Earle Core, Albert Ballard, Patrick Musick, Jolene Andersen, Eleanor Patton, Bill Hamilton, Wanda Durbin, Suzanne Wassmer, Mary Fenlon, Barbara Merriam, Catherine Blumenfeld, Barbara Hamilton, Gary Joyce, Mike Magnuson, Debbie Bettinger, Kathryn Hagen and Adelaide Nyquist.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.