Archive for Saturday, September 8, 2007

Scouting news

September 8, 2007


Boy Scouts from Troop 55, chartered to Westside Presbyterian Church, participated in a campout, Court of Honor and Order of the Arrow call-out ceremony May 18-20 at Camp Bromelsick.

Scouts called out for the Order of the Arrow, Scouting's national honor society, were Jamie Braden, Tyler Hanson, Johnathan Roberts, Steven Howe, Jeremy Woodhead, Isaac Remboldt and Ian Gent. Those Scouts also received merit badges during the weekend, along with Patrick Carttar, Jacob Christilles, Kameron Gibler, Keifer Gibler, Josh Gore, Newt Heston, Ludwig Johanning, Ulrich Johanning, Griffin Kimmel, David Lawrence, Chris Marr, Mitch McCune, Scott Ollila, Colin O'Neal, Alan O'Neal, Wyatt Patterson, Jacob Pfeifer, Isaac Rinke, Joseph Vannicola and J. D. Williams. A total of 58 merit badges were presented.

Arrowmen preparing the ceremony were Drew Braden, Joe Vannicola, Josh Gore, Alan O'Neal, David Lawrence, Jacob Pfeifer, Jacob Christilles, Kameron Gibler, Keifer Gibler and Mitch McCune. Adults working at the ceremony were Jim Peterson, Pat Flavin, Grady Walker, Annalee Marsh, Deb Vannicola and Scott Braden.

Scouts who earned rank advancements include:

Scout: John Bennett, Gage Buffington, Michael Edman, Stephen Fulton, Charlie Gaito, Aaron Gehrke, Adam Hayes, Alex Houston, Austin Johanning, Bryce Lignell, Ben Maloun, Chris Marr, Clayton Pfeifer, Nick Pippert, Conner Remboldt, Tyler Robbins, Matthew Thompson and Monte Turner.

Kjell Mullenix earned Second Class and First Class ranks. Other First Class recipients were Ian Gent and Chris Muetz.

Steven Howe earned the Star rank. Bryce Baringer received the Silver Palm, and Jacob Pfeifer was recognized for receiving the Ad Altare Dei Religious Emblem. Clayton Pfeifer and Jacob Pfeifer received the Rosary Patch Series.

First-year Scouts attending the campout were Conner Remboldt, Charlie Gaito, Clayton Pfeifer, Alex Houston, Nick Pippert, Monte Turner, Aaron Gehrke, Bryce Lignell, Gage Buffington, John Bennett, Stephen Fulton, Tyler Robbins and Matthew Thompson.

Older Scouts attending the campout were Ludwig Johanning, Steven Howe, Jeremy Woodhead, Tyler Hanson, Jonathan Roberts, Isaac Remboldt, Ian Gent, Jamie Braden, Kjell Mullenix, Wyatt Patterson, Spencer Wilson, Colin O'Neal and Griffin Kimmel.

Adults called out for the Order of the Arrow were Cammie Braden, Stephen Roberts and Scott Woodhead. Braden and Woodhead also were adult leaders on the campout, along with Monicka Remboldt, Annalee Marsh, Deb Vannicola, Richard Gaito, Peter Houston, Bill Robbins, Scott Braden, Tom Gore and Mike Howe.

¢ Cub Scout Pack 3057, chartered to St. John Catholic School's PTO, participated in a golf clinic July 20 at the Alvamar public golf course.

Randy Towner conducted the clinic, giving the Scouts an introduction to the game. He emphasized putting and golf etiquette. Kyle Taylor, of Golf USA, provided child-sized clubs.

Scouts attending included August Murphy-Beach, Jack Powell, Elias Schneck, Kyle Vogelsang, John Anderson, Andrew Bireta, George Haff IV, Ethan Anderson, Reed Pfeifer, KJ Lashley and Jacob Lashley.

Adult leaders and parents attending included Chris Anderson, Jim Beach, Steve Vogelsang, John Pfeifer, Brian Powell, Rich Bireta, Nicole Jamison and Tawnia Lashley.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.