Mangino named Big 12 coach of the year

Kansas University football coach Mark Mangino was named Big 12 coach of the year by the league’s coaches, one of several Jayhawks to be honored Tuesday.

Mangino, who guided Kansas to an 11-1 regular season, is the first KU coach to be named Big 12 coach of the year.

In addition, KU junior kick-returner Marcus Herford was named the Big 12 special teams player of the year after leading the conference with an average of 30.0 yards per kick return. His efforts have helped Kansas rank fourth nationally in kickoff returns.

Defensive tackle James McClinton, meanwhile, was named the league’s defensive lineman of the year.

McClinton, offensive tackle Anthony Collins, linebacker Joe Mortensen and cornerback Aqib Talib were each named first team All-Big 12 by the league coaches.

Herford, quarterback Todd Reesing, running back Brandon McAnderson and wide receiver Marcus Henry were named to the second team.