Archive for Saturday, May 19, 2007

4-H and FCE news

May 19, 2007


The Douglas County 4-H Foundation announces winners of college scholarships for the 2007-08 year.

Students who won the Ralph G. and Cloyd B. Achning Memorial 4-H Scholarship include Erin Ashcraft, Johnathon Berg, Melissa Colgan, Anne Dinsdale, Callie Fishburn, Kelly Flanders, Kalie Harris, Kelli Harris, Reagon Heikes, Rebecca Hinshaw, Caitlin Johnson, Alison Mesler, Kailey Mesler, Marla Metsker, Lindsay O'Bryon, Braxton Nottingham and Joanna Wakeman, all of Lawrence; Dale Baker, John Brown, Lindsey Hitchcock, Leah Hoelscher, Mark Jehle, Kalli Keen, Michael Krumm, Samantha Milligan, Cody Wilson and Sam Wilson, all of Baldwin City; Kari Hadl, Ashley Moran, Timothy Moran and Kyle Morgison, all of Eudora; and Cybill Milburn, Overbrook. Other winners include Mark Flory, Overbrook, the Bev and Bill Bradley Family Scholarship; Emily Krysztof, Baldwin City, the Clyde and Pauline Husted Memorial Scholarship; Michelle Colgan and Margaret Pendleton, both of Lawrence, and Mary Cox, Eudora, the George O. and Mildred M. Luckan Scholarship; and Michael Krumm, Baldwin City, the Oletha Blevins Scholarship.


Several area residents received awards at the 54th annual Douglas County Spring Beef Show, conducted April 28 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Hadley DeHoff, Tonganoxie, was reserve champion in the showmanship competition among 9- to 11-year-olds, and had the best Angus prospect steer. Hadley's Angus heifer was chosen as both the top Angus entry and supreme female.

Jackson Wingert, Wellsville, had the top Limousin prospect steer.

Justin Christie, Baldwin City, received the Douglas County Livestock Association's special award for the top steer in the county.

Breed champions in the female show included Austin Harkrader, Tonganoxie, Brangus; Allyson Ottensmeier, Oskaloosa, Chianina; Jenn Crawford, Lawrence, Limousin; and Cambry Lynch, Lawrence, Simmental. Cambry also received the Douglas County Livestock Association's special award for the top Douglas County beef female entry.

An Angus shown by Tyler Ottensmeier, McLouth, was chosen as the supreme bull.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.