Archive for Saturday, March 10, 2007

Scouting news

March 10, 2007


Nolan Kappelman, Lawrence, received the Eagle Scout award at a court of honor March 4 at First Presbyterian Church. He is a member of Troop 59 and a senior at Lawrence High School, where he participates in soccer, debate, Latin Club, Bike Club, Geography Club and choir.

As a Scout, he earned 30 merit badges and participated in camping and high adventure outings at the H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation, Flat Tops Wilderness Region, the Appalachian Trail, Philmont Scout Ranch and canoeing on the Niangua River. He is a fire builder in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, an ordeal member of the Order of the Arrow, and a member of the Honor Camping Society in the Heart of America Council and the National Council.

He served the troop as assistant patrol leader, patrol leader, librarian and troop guide. For his Eagle project, he built an observation deck and blind at Clinton Lake to observe eagles and other wildlife.

He is the son of Clay and Brenda Kappelman.

¢Boy Scouts in Troop 55, chartered to the West Side Presbyterian Church of Lawrence, volunteered at the Lawrence Humane Society on Feb. 10, as part of their Citizenship in the Community merit badge. Scouts learned about the shelter and its operation, and that as many as 800 animals are served at any given time. The boys helped by bathing puppies, cleaning cages, walking dogs, sorting laundry, washing dishes as well as helping to mail hundreds of newsletters.

Scouts attending included Drew Braden, Jamie Braden, Kevin Cottrell, Ian Gent, Kameron Gibler, Kiefer Gibler, Tyler Hanson, Newt Heston, Ludwig Johanning, Ulrich Johanning, Wolfgang Johanning, Griffin Kimmel, Chris Marr, Kjell Mullinex, Alan O'Neal, Colin O'Neal, Wyatt Patterson, Jacob Pfeifer, Jonathan Roberts, Joseph Vannicola, JD Willians and Jeremy Woodhead. They were accompanied by adult leaders Bob Gent, Deb Vannicola, and Scott Woodhead.

¢The Pelathe District held its annual Pinewood Derby at the Edmond Burgess Scout Cabin on March 3.

The district champion was Caelan Golledge, Pack 3059. First runner-up was Tyler Herman, Pack 3064. Second runner-up was Spencer Conrad, Pack 3072. Third runner-up was Lucas Mackey, Pack 3077. Clayton Pfeifer, Pack 3057, received the People's Choice and Boys' Choice Awards, in recognition of his excellence in design and construction of the wood-block car.

George McCleary coordinated the event. He was helped by Pelathe District executive Jacob Allen, Nancy Wilson, Jean Pfeifer and Karen Cook. The derby was open to any Cub Scout, and the cars raced on the Jim Bob Simpson Track.


bearded_gnome 10 years, 10 months ago

hearty congratulations on the Eagle Scout award.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.