Archive for Saturday, March 10, 2007

Around and about

March 10, 2007


Ellen Beard, Lawrence, and Andrew Wallace, Winchester, were named to the Dean's List for the fall 2006 semester at Sterling College. They earned a cumulative and semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

¢Several area student athletes were named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll for 2006 at Kansas University during halftime of the KU-Colorado men's basketball game Jan. 27 at Allen Fieldhouse.

Students who achieved a semester grade-point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale during the spring or fall 2006 semester are eligible for the honor. Spirit Squad members are included this year for the first time. Area students include:

Baldwin City: Katherine Marcella Beall, Emily Nicole Brown and Hugh Robert Murphy.

Lawrence: Elizabeth Anne Beisner, Kallie Anne Campbell, Max Ellenbecker, Holly Renee Gault, Megan Elizabeth Heacock, Dyana Lynn Lawrence, Lindsey Kay Lawrence, Jayme Linne Lisher, Adrian Rafial Ludwig, Brandon Royce McAnderson, Robert Clifton Mitchell, Linsey Ann Morningstar, Abbey Kristine Murray, Robby A. Price, Brian Piller Seymour, Stephen Brett Vinson and Sydney Sloan Wilson.

Ottawa: Lisa Marie Morrisey and Jack Thomas Sachse.

Tonganoxie: Megan Denise Gier and Levi Talon Huseman.

¢Several area students have graduated from Kansas University's 2007 LeaderShape Institute, sponsored and coordinated annually by KU's Student Involvement and Leadership Center. The students include Nina Zuna, Eudora; Jessica James, Nathan Mack Jr., Susan Santee and Elizabeth Stuewe, all of Lawrence; and Wayne Yang, Wellsville. The six-day intensive program to develop leadership abilities took place Jan. 10-15 at the Tall Oaks Conference Center near Linwood.

¢Emily Folks and Emily Braden, seniors at Free State High School, received third- and fourth-place scholarships in the Citizenship Essay Competition sponsored by the General Federation of Women's Clubs of Kansas. They were honored on Sunday and Monday in Topeka.

Folks was sponsored by the Lawrence Classics GFWC Club, and Braden was sponsored by the Blue Rapids GFWC Club.

They presented their essays at the awards banquet and toured the State Capitol, Judicial Building, Cedar Crest and the Brown vs. Board of Education National Historic Site. On Monday, the honorees were introduced on the floor of the House of Representatives.

¢Lawrence schools dominated in the Southwest Junior High School chess tournament March 3 at the Kansas Union. First-place team trophies went to Southwest Junior High in K-12 and Quail Run School in K-6 and K-3 divisions. Wakarusa Valley School claimed the second place trophy in K-6, and SWJH and Cordley School earned third place trophies in K-8 and K-3, respectively.

Individual first-place trophies were won by Hillcrest School's Siyin Li in K-6 and Sunflower School's Apramay Mishra in K-3. Quail Run's Aaron Simon and Cordley's McCarthy Fitch earned second place trophies in K-6 and K-3, respectively; and Cordley's Jake Burdett garnered the third place trophy in K-6.

Lawrence medalists in K-12 were Peter Lesslie, SWJH, fourth; Alan Shi, SWJH, fifth; Thomas Reams, SWJH, sixth; Thomas Clark, SWJH, seventh; Kellen Cross, SWJH, eighth; Keely Stenseng, SWJH, ninth; Jason Chang, SWJH, 15th; and Jessica Newman, South Junior High, 17th.

K-8 winners included Terry Han, SWJH, seventh; Sudhanshu Manda, SWJH, eighth; Zack Curran, Cordley, 11th; and Nicholas Shaheed, SWJH, 14th.

K-6 winners included Sam Stephens, Quail Run, fourth; Andrei Elliott, Quail Run, fifth; Cal Young, Wakarusa Valley, seventh; Cole Reams, Quail Run, eighth; Luke Lesslie, Quail Run, 11th; Venkata Malladi, Quail Run, 13th; Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 14th; Ian Gent, Cordley, 15th; Owen McFadden, Wakarusa Valley, 16th; and Laura Nielsen, Wakarusa Valley, 17th.

K-3 winners were Roscoe Bradt, Cordley, fourth; Joshua Kallenbach, Quail Run, seventh; Jonathan Lesslie, Quail Run, ninth; Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, 10th; Madison Murphy, Quail Run, 12th; Samarth Chakrasali, Sunflower, 13th, Maxwell Briggs, Wakarusa Valley, 14th; Aimee Nielsen, Wakarusa Valley, 17th; Colin Bradt, Cordley, 18th; and Michael Tracy, Wakarusa Valley, 20th.

¢Heather Ross Schmidt, Lawrence, was named to the Kansas Environmental Leadership Program's Class of 2007. Class members will participate in five training sessions during a 10-month period. The sessions are designed to help members hone their leadership skills and learn about the environment and water resources in Kansas. The program is administered through the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering at Kansas State University, and is a cooperative project of K-State Research and Extension and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

¢The team from South Junior High School won the top middle school award at the Model United Nations state competition this week in Topeka. Danielle Hodges, an eighth-grader, won the top delegate award for middle schools. Other team members were Henry Chapman, Kyleigh Bowen, Morgan Manger and Emily Davidson. They represented the Netherlands.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.