Archive for Saturday, June 23, 2007

Around and about

June 23, 2007


Nathan and Laura Rightmeier, Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Jasper Leigh Rightmeier, born June 14, 2007, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Maternal grandparents are Bob and Saline O'Neil, and Fred and Judy Olson. Paternal grandparents are Eldon and Lorna Rightmeier. Great-grandparents are Mildred Whyler, Betty Mock, and Leon and Bonnie Rightmeier.

¢Michael Albright received a doctorate in neuroscience from the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He has taken a position in the research lab of Hui-Chen Lu at Baylor College of Medicine in the Texas Medical Center in Houston.

Albright, a 1999 graduate of Kansas University, is the son of Gary and Mary Albright, Great Bend, and the grandson of Dareld and Martha Albright, Lawrence.

¢Kayla Frost, Lawrence, for the second consecutive semester, was named to the Dean's List for grades achieved during the spring 2007 semester at Hosftra University in Hempstead, N.Y. Frost completed her sophomore year majoring in communications and television production.

¢Ellen Beard, Lawrence, graduated cum laude from Sterling College with a bachelor's degree in elementary education on May 12. Beard was recognized as a Kelsey Scholar for earning a 3.5 cumulative grade-point average or higher at the end of the spring 2007 semester. She was named to the spring 2007 Dean's List.

¢Jordan Noller, Lawrence, received the Academic Excellence Award in the study of Advanced Latin at Knox College in Galesburg, Ill. Noller also was named to the Dean's List for grades achieved in the winter and spring semesters. She will be a sophomore and is majoring in biology.

¢Andrew Petz, a recent graduate of Free State High School, received the Lisa Ramos Bland Memorial Scholarship from the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America. The scholarship recognizes students who are members of a Catholic parish in Douglas County and have worked to improve the lives of county residents.

¢Several area residents were among the students honored at the 50th annual spring honors banquet conducted by Kansas University's department of mathematics.

Lynne Yengulalp, Lawrence doctoral student, received the $1,000 Florence Black Excellence in Teaching Award and the $500 John Bunce award. She also was a May Landis Scholarship recipient.

Bryan Gurss, Tonganoxie, received a certificate from the Kansas Algebra Program for his outstanding contributions to teaching, tutoring and extra duties.

Other Lawrence students receiving awards include Amy Couzens, Wealthy Babcock Scholarship; George Couzens, Charles H. Ashton Memorial Scholarship; Brandon Humpert, U.G. Mitchell Honor Scholarship; Kenneth Lord, Black-Babcock Mathematics Scholarship; Daniel McNeill, U.G. Mitchell Honor Scholarship; Rodolfo Matias Torres-Gavosto, Rollin S. Wade New Student Memorial Scholarship; Erika Lynn Ward, May Landis Scholarship

¢Laura Murphy, Lawrence, received the Lee C. and Darcy Gerhard Field Research Student Award from the Kansas Geological Survey. Murphy is pursuing a master's degree in anthropology at Kansas University. She received the award for her archeological investigations in Rawlins County in northwestern Kansas.

¢Joel Burg, Lawrence, was selected to the dean's list for grades achieved during the spring 2007 semester at Ball State University in Muncie, Ind. He earned at least a 3.5 grade point average.

¢Heather Harrison, Law-rence, and Kyla Lewis, Baldwin City, were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi at Emporia State University. The organization is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship in all academic disciplines.

¢Outstanding students in the department of theatre and film at Kansas University were honored recently.

Lawrence students who received awards include Alexander Backus, "Tensie" Award for Best Editing for "Carjacked"; Michael Bales and Thomas Middleton, Gerhard Zuther Memorial Award for Dramatic Scriptwriting; Dale Buchheister, Bob Findlay Award; Muriel Green, Charles "Buddy" Rogers Scholarship; Sara Huslig, "Tensie" Award for Best Music Video for "Tragic Scene From Some Movie" for Steve Unruh's "Serenade"; Charles Olson, "Tensie" Award for Best Animation Project for "Somewhere Between Now And Later"; Manuel Perez-Tejada, Herk Harvey Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Film Award, and KU Film Studies Symposium Outstanding Paper Award; and Erin Niedenthal, Clarence Seaver Technical Theatre Scholarship.

¢Kansas University's department of Slavic languages and literatures recognized students for academic excellence and outstanding service recently. Lawrence students who were honored include Olena Chervonik-Bearden, Joseph L. Conrad Memorial Award, and Excellence in Intermediate Polish; Adrienne Harris-Boggess, Dobro Slovo national Slavic honor society, and Outstanding Service to the Department Award; Stefan Bergstrom, Excellence in Elementary Polish; Adrienne Harris-Boggess; Erica Goodoff, Excellence in Advanced Russian; Erin Moulton, Excellence in Elementary Polish; and Lynne Yengulalp, Excellence in Intermediate Turkish.

Alphild Rees, Perry, received an award for excellence in intermediate Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian.

¢Several area law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center on June 1. Graduates include J. W. Hawkins, patrol officer for the Baldwin City Police Department; Deputy Deb Porter, Douglas County Sheriff's Department; Amanda Stites, Lawrence, a special agent for the Kansas Bureau of Investigation; and Officer Richard Whitis Jr., Kansas University Police Department.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.