Archive for Saturday, June 23, 2007

4-H and FCE news

June 23, 2007


Several area 4-H members have earned 2007 Kansas 4-H project awards. The awards were presented May 31 at the Emerald Circle Banquet in Manhattan. Winners are eligible to attend the National 4-H Congress, set for Nov. 23-27 in Atlanta. To qualify for a state project award, a 4-H member must earn the top award for the project in his or her county, then advance to the Extension area level.

Winners from Douglas and Franklin counties include Cassandra Hopkins, first alternate, citizenship; Quinton Keen, winner, dairy; and Todd Coen, first alternate, dairy; Wesley Callahan, winner, leadership.

¢Area 4-H members were among those sharing $34,000 in scholarships that were presented at the 2007 Emerald Circle Banquet on May 31 in Manhattan.

Winners from Douglas County include Wesley Callahan, J. Harold and Laverne Johnson Scholarship; and Mary Ellen Cox, Roscoe M. and Winona M. Starkey Scholarship. Franklin County winners are Cherry Coen, Mary E. Border Scholarship; Ashley Guenther, Cecil and Merle Eyestone Scholarship; Shane Oram, Orschlen Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship; Tess Ludwick, Georgia Wertzberger Scholarship; and Cassandra Hopkins, Winter Family Grant.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.