Archive for Saturday, January 13, 2007

Around and about

January 13, 2007


Rosston Eubank, a senior at Oskaloosa High School, has been offered a Wallace scholarship by Wichita State University. The award includes $15,000 to study engineering for four years.

¢ Kevin Jackson, Lawrence, graduated from Hamilton College's campus in Lincoln, Neb., on Dec. 19. He received an associate of applied science degree in criminal justice.

¢ D.J. Watkins, Lawrence, has been named to Baker University's Dean's List for maintaining a 3.5 grade-point average during the fall 2006 semester.

¢ Sara Freeman and Ashley Coffman, both of Lawrence, were named to the Dean's Honor Roll for the fall semester at Bethany College in Lindsborg. Freeman is a senior majoring in elementary education, and Coffman is a senior majoring in vocal music education.

¢ William Nagengast and Emily Edwards, both of Lawrence, have received Dean's Academic Scholarships from Bethel College for the 2007-08 academic year. The scholarship is valued at $27,200 over a four-year period. Nagengast is a senior at Lawrence High School, and Edwards is a senior at Free State High School. Bethel College, in North Newton, is a four-year liberal arts college affiliated with Mennonite Church USA.

¢ Southwest Junior High School and Quail Run School won first-place trophies in the K-12 and K-6 sections, respectively, while Wakarusa Valley School claimed the second-place trophy at the Quail Run Chess Tournament, played Jan. 6 at Ottawa Middle School.

Individually, Southwest swept the top six medal positions in the K-12 section, with Thomas Reams taking first with a perfect score of six wins, no losses.

Other local medal winners in K-12 were Kellen Cross, SWJH, second; Alan Shi, SWJH, third; Peter Lesslie, SWJH, fourth; Keely Stenseng, SWJH, fifth; Thomas Clark, SWJH, sixth; Sean Stenseng, Free State High School, eighth; Roy Wedge, Central Junior High, 11th; and Pattrick Magnuson, SWJH, 20th. In K-8, Terry Han, SWJH, took 14th.

K-6 medal winners included Cole Reams, Quail Run, second; Luke Lesslie, Quail Run, fifth; Sam Stephens, Quail Run, sixth; Lucas Suchy, Wakarusa Valley, seventh; Aaron Simon, Quail Run, eighth; Siyin Li, Hillcrest School, ninth; Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 10th; Cal Young, Wakarusa Valley, 11th; Roscoe Bradt, Cordley School, 13th; Andrei Elliott, Quail Run, 15th; Katie Conard, Quail Run, 17th; and Ian Gent, Cordley, 20th.

K-3 medal winners included Apramay Mishra, Sunflower School, second; Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, fifth; Maxwell Briggs, Wakarusa Valley, 10th; Jonathan Lesslie, Quail Run, 11th; James Faith, Wakarusa Valley, 14th; Eileen Huang, Quail Run, 15th; Madison Reams, Quail Run, 17th; and Colin Bradt, Cordley, 19th.

¢ Knights of Columbus Council 1372 announces award winners for the last quarter of 2006. Knight of the Month winners are John Wingebach, October; Marv Simon, November; and Tom Waner, December. Family of the Month winners are Jim Evers, October; Steve Smith, November; and George O'Brien, December.

¢ The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Association will offer a student recital at

2 p.m. Sunday at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 N.H. Students who will perform include Yihan Li, Sarah Long, Eric Palmquist, Zach Stites, Nora Elbayoumy, Betty Zhiang, Tammy Liu and Adrienne Willems. Their teacher is Carol Cook.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.