Archive for Saturday, December 22, 2007

Around and about

December 22, 2007


Emily Bachert, Lawrence, received first place in the high school woodwinds division at the state level of the Kansas Music Teachers Association Honor Auditions, conducted Nov. 10 in Wichita.

She performed a clarinet solo. Bachert, who is a home-schooled sophomore, studies clarinet with Ashley White.


Four area students were honored this fall at the All American Quarter Horse Congress Hippology Contest in Columbus, Ohio. Team members were Jason Miles, Lawrence, Shannon and Sarah Smith, and Austin Bargary, all of Tonganoxie.

The team took second place overall and won first in the written exam and performance horse judging, as well as fifth place in team stations.

Individually, Shannon Smith was the high point-earner, winning first place overall, first in written exam, fourth in stations and fifth in the judging portion. Bargary placed third in horse judging. In the written hippology exams, Miles placed fourth, and Sarah Smith was fifth.

The team was coached by Dr. Vickie Smith, a Tonganoxie veterinarian, and Steven Miles, Lawrence.


Jon Green, Lawrence, was named to the dean's list for grades achieved during the autumn 2007 quarter at DePaul University in Chicago. Green earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 or above.


Several Lawrence residents received academic scholarships for the 2007-08 year at Bethel College.

Will Nagengast received the Dean's Academic Scholarship, valued at $27,200 over a four-year period. Genevieve Rucker received the Bethel Scholar Academic Scholarship, valued at $17,600 over four years. Nagengast and Rucker are 2007 graduates of Lawrence High School.

Caleb Stephens received the Thresher Academic Scholarship, valued at $12,800 over a four-year period. He is a 2007 graduate of Free State High School.

Academic scholarships at Bethel are based on high school grade-point average and college entrance exams.


Brandon Sublette, Lawrence, was inducted into the Alpha Chi honor society this fall at Harding University in Searcy, Ark. Sublette is a graduate student in business management.

Graduate students who rank in the top 10 percent of their respective programs are among the students eligible to join the honor society.

The Phi Kappa Phi honor society recently initiated new members at Kansas University.

Lawrence residents who joined the honor society include Jesse J. Brubacher, Molly Ailene Easley, Jeffrey Robert McGee, Andrew John Mullin, Jason Sellers, Phillip Charles William Ryan Wrigley, Sarah B. Bracciano, Benjamin Gregory Chapman, Grant Denton Wille, Lynne Christine Yengulalp, Joel J. Angelone, Kalem Keith Kopf, Matthew Robert LeGresley, Louis James McKown, Jake G. Messersmith, Brandon Trevor Minster, David Anton Thomas and Kristin Renee Vernon.

Other area residents include Colleen Kay Riley, Baldwin City; Jacob Reed Longaker, De Soto; Audra Louise Walter, Eudora; Caitlin Nicole Rose, Linwood; Karen Lynn Barnwell, Melissa M. Fuller and Jennifer M. Harness, all of Ottawa; and Sarah C. Hemme, Perry.

At KU, only the top 10 percent of seniors, top 7.5 percent of second-semester juniors with more than 72 credit hours, and top 10 percent of graduate students are asked to join.


Kansas State University announces graduation candidates for fall commencement. Ceremonies were scheduled for Dec. 7 and 8 in Salina and Manhattan.

Candidates from Lawrence include Rita Jean Beyer, Master of Science; Sarah Ruth Buttenhoff, B.S. in agriculture; John Michael Chaffee, B.S. in mechanical engineering; Deidra Ann Ehlers, B.S. in human nutrition; Wendy Marie Griswold, Doctor of Philosophy; Brian Matthew Henry, Master of Business Administration; Eric Andrew Herman, B.S. in construction science and management; Bonny Hayden Martens, Master of Science; Christopher Neil Patch, Bachelor of Arts; Michael James Pollock, B.S. in mechanical engineering; Melissa Marie Schieffer, B.S. in family studies and human services; and Kevin Scott Unrein, Master of Science.

Other area candidates:

¢ Baldwin City: Bart Allen Carroll, B.S. in computer science; Jerrad Dean Goodell, B.S.; Jordan Prescott Schaecher, B.S. in construction science and management; Katy Jo Taul, B.S. in agriculture.

¢ Basehor: James Christopher Erin, Master of Science.

¢ Eudora: Nicholas James Campanella, B.S. in construction science and management; Kristen Renae Knight, bachelor of music education.

¢ Oskaloosa: Kaitlyn Lu Robbins, B.S. in agriculture.

¢ Ottawa: Allison Gayle Daniels, B.S.; Jerrad Dean Goodell, B.S.; Laura Jean O'Connor, B.S. in hotel and restaurant management.

¢ Tonganoxie: Courtney Jean Hoffhines, B.S. in elementary education.

¢ Wellsville: Nathan Chase Brecheisen, B.S. in construction science and management; Kristen Michelle Cowdin, B.S.

¢ Valley Falls: Drew Charles Bartlett, B.S. in business administration; Brandy Marie Sutherland, Master of Science.

Also receiving a degree was Mark Ryan Burnett, B.S. in agriculture, a graduate of McLouth High School.


Pittsburg State University announces candidates for fall 2007 graduation.

Candidates from Lawrence include David Arthur Grote, B.S.; and Adrian Miles Hunt, B.S. in technology.

Other area candidates include:

¢ Basehor: Daley Leintz, B.S. in education; Jeremiah Caleb Pant, B.S. in technology; Nathan Jon Weddum, Bachelor of Business Administration.

¢ Eudora: Andrew Cameron Bell, B.S. in technology; and Wesley Hinman, Bachelor of Arts.

¢ McLouth: Wayne Allen Wrosch, B.S. in technology.

¢ Ottawa: Timothy Keith Mobley, B.S.

¢ Overbrook: Kevin Andrew Smith, B.S. in technology.

¢ Tonganoxie: David M. Lindquist, B.S. in technology.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.