Progress 2007 Behind the scenes

KJHK wins broadcasting awards

April 21, 2007


KJHK Radio, a student-run station serving Kansas University, was presented with five awards at the annual Kansas Association of Broadcasters awards ceremony April 2 in Wichita.

The KAB awards recognized outstanding student efforts in radio, television and Internet broadcasting. There were a total 138 radio entries during this year's ceremony, with a total of 32 winners. The award winners from KJHK:

¢ First place, 60-second Station Promotion, "Hip Hop Hyp," Laura Watkins and Jason Agron.

¢ First place, Entertainment Program, "The Sporting Life," Rustin Dodd, Blake Cripps, Ryan Elder.

¢ Second place, Entertainment Program, "The Panel, Episode 11.09.06," Annie Harrigan, Ian Hrabe, Joe Noh.

¢ Second place, Documentary, "DBR," Annie Harrigan.

¢ Honorable Mention, Sports Play-by-Play, "KU vs. K-State Men's Basketball," Bryan Cisler, Rustin Dodd.

"With so many entries, this year was very competitive," said Tom Johnson, KJHK general manager and adviser. "Our students made a great showing, and all of them should be proud of their accomplishments."

KJHK, a public radio station, has been broadcasting from the KU campus in Lawrence since 1975. It is a division of the KU Memorial Unions, which reports to the Office of the Vice Provost for Student Success.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.