Archive for Saturday, September 23, 2006

Scouting news

September 23, 2006


¢ Girl Scout Troop 720 recently celebrated the achievements of its members with a family potluck. Lauren Bandle and Kelsey Leinmiller-Renick received their Silver Award for planning Night Prowl, an annual Douglas County service unit event for teen scouts.

The following members received their 10-year recognition pin: Daphne Phillips, Emily Foerschler, Lauren Bandle and Kelsey Leinmiller-Renick. Daphne Phillips received an award patch for selling more than 150 boxes of Girl Scout cookies and a recognition patch for being the troop's top seller for four consecutive years.

Hannah Bain, Caitleen Desetti, Lauren Badle and Kelsey Leinmiller-Renick were recognized for bridging to the senior level of girl scouting. Troop 720 leaders are Eileen Phillips and Cris Bandle.

¢ Cub Scout Pack 3071, chartered to Prairie Park School, had its third annual Cub Scout Olympics on Sept. 2. The first- and second-year Webelos Dens began the event with a flag ceremony and Pledge of Allegiance. Cub Master Robert Lemons helped kick off the Olympics at 9 a.m. The events included a basketball throw, football throw, discus/shot put throw, three-legged race, obstacle course, soccer and watermelon seed spitting contest.

Those who participated included Patrick Buchanan, Tony Covert, Elijah Collision, Kyle Denny, Andy Dominguez, Mathew Dominguez, Luke Hinkle, Johnathan Kinder, Ben La Rocque, Austin Lemmons, Dusty Morris, Joey Newhouse, Hunter Shawley, Adrian Staab and Nick Steichen. The following adult leaders helped put on the Olympics: Robert Lemmons, Monica Lemmons, Brett Sipes, Robert Buchanen, Tami Denny, Andrew Denny, Tom Newhouse, Carrie Dominguez, Javier Dominguez, Alexis Dominguez, Michelle Thomas, Robert Kinder, David Shawley and Steve Steichen.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.