Archive for Tuesday, October 31, 2006

KU quartet named to Big 12 second team

October 31, 2006


Four Kansas University players were named to the All-Big 12 Conference soccer teams, and two more were tapped for the Big 12 All-Newcomer team Monday.

KU senior Holly Gault and sophomores Jessica Bush, Missy Geha and Jenny Murtaugh were named to the All-Big 12 second team, while freshmen Monica Dolinsky and Estelle Johnson earned Big 12 All-Newcomer Team honors.

Gault, a senior from Spring Hill, earned her fourth all-conference selection. The 5-foot-6 senior moved from defender to forward this season and scored a career-high five goals and matched a career-high with six assists this season.

Bush, a sophomore from Blue Springs, Mo., earned All-Big 12 honors for the first time after being named to the All-Newcomer team last season. This season, Bush led the team with seven goals, including six against Big 12 opponents.

Geha, a sophomore from Overland Park, was also a 2005 All-Big 12 Newcomer team pick. The 5-foot-6 midfielder tallied a pair of assists this season, while starting all 18 contests.

Murtaugh, a sophomore from Littleton, Colo., garnered all-conference honors for the first time in her career. The 5-foot-5 defender started every match in the defensive backfield and helped the team shut out six Big 12 foes and post an 0.99 goals-against average.

Dolinsky, a freshman from Carmel, Ind., earned Big 12 All-Newcomer team honors by scoring a team-high 17 points this season. The 5-foot-5 forward/midfielder tallied six goals and five assists in her first year.

Johnson, a freshman from Fort Collins, Colo., was named to the all-newcomer team after appearing in all 18 matches and making 17 starts as a freshman.

Nebraska senior Brittany Timko and Oklahoma State junior Yolanda Odenyo were honored as co-Big 12 Players of the Year, while Colorado freshman Nikki Marshall earned Rookie of the Year accolades. OSU head coach Karen Hancock was picked as the league's Coach of the Year.

KU (11-7) will face Colorado on Wednesday in the quarterfinal round of the Big 12 Championship at 1:30 p.m. in San Antonio, Texas.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.