Archive for Saturday, October 28, 2006

8 local students win prestigious scholarships

October 28, 2006


Eight Douglas County students are among the 56 national scholarship winners to enroll in Kansas University this fall.

KU this week announced its newly enrolled students who are recipients of the National Merit, National Achievement and National Hispanic scholarships.

Douglas County winners were Lynne Marie Lammers, Christopher Paul Bohling, Brenna Mae Tompson Daldorph, Thora Weaver Whitmore, Gregory Robert Gaumer, Linda Rebecca Green, Daniel Roszhart Zehr and Amanda Ashley Pierce.

The National Merit is regarded as the most prestigious national award for high school seniors. The National Hispanic scholars and National Achievement scholars programs are prestigious competitive scholarships for minority students.

Each scholar received a $10,000 scholarship.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.