Archive for Wednesday, May 31, 2006

Primary candidate filings few so far

May 31, 2006


As the June 12 filing deadline nears for the primary election, few Douglas County candidates had filed as of Tuesday.

All Kansas House of Representatives positions are open, as are positions for county township clerks. Also, each precinct will elect a committeeman and committeewoman.

Charles Jones is a candidate for re-election as 1st District county commissioner. A Democrat, he is the only candidate to file so far. The other two Douglas County Commission seats are not up for election.

Those who have filed for the House in Douglas County or Topeka are Democrats Tom Holland, 10th District, and Paul Davis, 46th District; and Republican Tom Sloan, 45th District.

Three people, all Republicans, have filed for township clerk: Jerry Smith, Willow Springs; Michael Stewart, Lecompton; and Jeanne Waisner, Kanwaka.

Those who have filed for precinct committeemen or women are Democrats Kathleen Davis, 21st precinct; Raymond Davis, 21st precinct; Ernie Fantini, 56th precinct; Richard Givens, 28th precinct; Carol Renzulli, 1st precinct; Craig Sundell, 33rd precinct; Sky Westerlund, 40th precinct; and Verdeania Zeller, 63rd precinct; and Republicans James Dunn, 7th precinct; Nancy Dunn, 7th precinct; Marie Meyen, 63rd precinct; Keith Noe, 58th precinct; and Martha Parker, 51st precinct.

The primary election is Aug. 1 and the general election is Nov. 7.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.