Archive for Monday, May 22, 2006

Bernstein wins top fuel crown

May 22, 2006


— Brandon Bernstein improved to 10-1 in Top Fuel finals Sunday, beating Cory McClenathan with a quarter-mile run of 4.531 seconds at 329.58 mph in the Pontiac Performance NHRA Nationals.

"I think we're contenders. We certainly have the car and the capability to win the championship," said Bernstein, third in the standings behind Melanie Troxel and Doug Kalitta. "Troxel got a good lead on all of us but we have a long way to go this year and if you can have a few days like today when she goes out (in the quarterfinals) and you go on, it doesn't take long to catch up."

In other divisions in the $1.5 million event, Tony Pedregon won the Funny Car competition, Jim Yates topped the Pro Stock cars, and Angelle Sampey won the Pro Stock Motorcycles. Pedregon beat Whit Bazemore for his second victory in a row and 31st overall.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.