Archive for Saturday, May 20, 2006

Scouting news

May 20, 2006


Cub Scout Pack 3057, chartered to the Lawrence Catholic School PTO, participated in Scouting for Food.

The following scouts and leaders distributed bags for Scouting for Food: Luke Fitzgerald, Jakob Walter, Brandon Bunting, Clayton Pfeifer, Kyle Vogelsang, August Murphy-Beach, Mike Fitzgerald, Brian Walter, Theresa Bunting, John Pfeifer, Jean Pfeifer and Linda Koester-Vogelsang. On April 8, Scouts collected almost 300 pounds of food and took it to the Salvation Army for distribution among several food pantries in Lawrence. Scouts and adults who collected the food included Luke Fitzgerald, Mike Fitzgerald, Brandon Bunting, Theresa Bunting, Kyle Vogelsang, Chester Vogelsang, Jakob Walter, Ben Witte, Sam Witte, Alex Waite, Elias Schneck, Marlon Schneck, Karen Schneck, Steve Chavez and Andrew Chavez.

Scouts worked with the Knights of Columbus on cleaning up the grounds at St. John the Evangelist Church and school grounds. Those who helped were Chris Anderson, John Anderson, Charlie Dominguez, Austin Dominguez, Tawania Lashley, KJ Lashley, Theresa Bunting, Brandon Bunting, Cheryl Witte, Sam Witte, Ben Witte, Chip Waite, Lisa Waite, Alex Waite, Isabella Waite, Mike Fitzgerald, Luke Fitzgerald, John Pfeifer, Clayton Pfeifer, Brian Walter, Jakob Walter and Hannah Walter.

Rod Zinn and Dakota Zinn promoted Cubs in Hollywood day camp at a Pack meeting in April. The camp will be June 5-9 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

¢ Venturing Crew 2052, chartered to St. Margaret's Episcopal Church in Lawrence, recently hosted Girl Scout Troops 738 and 609 at a horseback riding campout in Blairstown, Mo. The girls cooked, camped, traveled to H Roe Bartle Scout Reservation, and earned the Equestrian Ranger badge.

Those who attended were Christina Craig, Kellie Newins, Katie Baringer and adult leader Jill Baringer, of Troop 738; and Kelsey Taylor, Zoe Timmerman, Gracie Clark, Maisie Hotveldt, Katie Meyer, Mikkayla Kunkle, Casey Hutchins, Erica Hernley and adult leaders Audrey Taylor, Jordan Arnold and Linda Kierman, of Troop 609.

Crew members who attended were Jo Anna Male, Kayla Chilcoat, Erick Ahler, Lissy Ridenour, Christy Howard, Carol Fittell, Michelle Thomas, Cortney Richmond and Desiree Richmond. They were joined by adult leaders Cathy Howard, Kim Zinn, Barbara Pressgrove and Ralena McCurdy.

The crew is open to all young women ages 13-21 and meets on the second and fourth Thursday of every month at 7 p.m. at St. Margaret's Episcopal Church. Additional information can be obtained from Ralena McCurdy at 542-3050.

¢ Boy Scout Troop 55, chartered to the Westside Presbyterian Church, attended the Advanced Space Exploration program April 22 at the Cosmosphere in Hutchinson. They built an advanced rocket model, designed and built a robot that competed against other teams' robots to complete a task, watched an IMAX movie, ate pizza and played with several pieces of equipment usually reserved for students attending the summer camps.

Scouts who participated were Bryce Baringer, Drew Braden, Andrew Carttar, Patrick Carttar, Kevin Cottrell, Josh Gore, Newt Heston, Ludwig Johanning, Ulrich Johanning, David Lawrence, Mitch McCune, Jacob Pfeifer, Isaac Remboldt, Joseph Vannicola and Jeremy Woodhead. The were accompanied by Jill Baringer, Dennis Christilles, John Pfeifer and Scott Woodhead, adult leaders.

The Scouts had a Pinewood Derby on April 24. The winners were Bryce Baringer, first; Josh Gore, second; and Jamie Braden, third. Scouts who participated were Alan O'Neal, Drew Braden, Andrew Sigler, Austen Down, Bryant Denning, Bryce Baringer, Colin O'Neal, Griffen Kimmel, Ian Gent, Isaac Remboldt, Isaac Rinke, James Murphy, Jamie Braden, JD Williams, Jonathon Roberts, Josh Gore, Kameron Gibler, Keifer Gibler, Kevin Cottrell, Kjell Mullenix, Mike Howe, Mitch McCune, Oliver Devlin, Spencer Wilson, Steven Howe, Tom Gore, Travis Andregg and Will Armstrong.

Cammie Braden, Monicka Remboldt, Kim Davis-Aldridge, Lorna Clarke, John Pfeifer, Stephen Roberts and Bob Gent completed their "Introduction to Outdoor Skills" training at Camp Jayhawk April 28-30 near Lake Perry.

¢ Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield School PTA, had its annual Advancement Awards Dinner on May 7 at Centennial Park.

Scouts from the Tiger, Wolf, Bear and Webelos dens who earned advancement to the next rank received badges from their respective den leaders.

Den Leader Nicolette Bennett presented Tiger patches to Jarod Bennett, Zion Bowlin, Aaron Funk, Saleem Haley, Raiyan Haq, Andrew Miller, Drake Riner, Jackson Wells, Jamison Wheat and Luke Winchester.

Den Leader Wayne Dedloff presented Wolf patches to Logan Dedloff, Josh Kallenbach, Christopher Blevins, Seth Winchester, Matthew Meske, Lane Nations, Ryan Lavery, Eli McCleary, Jonathon Mitts and Taylor Donner.

Den Leader Melissa Wilson presented Bear patches to Alex Doktor, Blake Murray, David Neff, Kenneth Palmer, Brendan Phillips, Michael Quackenbush and Brandon Wilson.

Den Leader Rick Werner presented Webelos patches to Alex Houston, Dustin Vickers, Hunter Dedloff, John Bennett, Logan Cherland, Logan Ramsey-McDaniel, Lucas Werner, Michael Edman, Nick Pippert, Stephen Fulton and Tyler Robbins.

Nicolette Bennett, Pelathe District day camp director, announced that Alex Houston was the first-place winner of the 2006 Day Camp poster contest.

¢ Webelos and adults from Cub Scout Pack 3462 participated in Webelos Graduation Weekend, which was held in conjunction with Pelathe District Camp Bromelsick near Clinton State Park. Among the activities the boys participated in was action sling shot, canoeing, showman activity badge, first aid, fire building, night hikes, and a formal campfire and bridge crossing ceremony for newly inducted Webelos scouts. Scouts who attended were Mathew Pribbenow, Nathan Weeks, Garrett Weeks, Thomas Peterson, Dakota Zinn and Garrett Frank. They were accompanied by adult leaders Glen Pribbenow, Patrick Weeks, Sean Weeks, Terri Jones, Barry Frank, Kent Peterson and Rod Zinn.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.