Archive for Saturday, March 11, 2006


March 11, 2006


Joel Morrison, Eudora, received his Eagle Scout Award during a Court of Honor on March 4 at the Olathe Christian Church.

Joel started his Scouting career with Cub Scout Pack 3064 in Eudora. In 1999, he graduated from Cubs to Boy Scouts, joining Troop 64. He has served as troop quartermaster, bugler, assistant patrol leader, troop guide, chaplain's aide, assistant senior patrol leader and senior patrol leader.

He attended Camp Theodore Naish Scout Reservation, near Bonner Springs, and H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation, near Osceola, Mo. He was a staff member at Camp Bartle. Last summer, he spent two weeks at Philmont Scout Ranch, a high adventure camp, in New Mexico. He has earned more than 30 merit badges.

Joel will graduate from Eudora High School in May, and plans to attend Kansas State University. He is the son of Jim and Kasey Morrison, Eudora.

Joshua Corey Hartley, 18, has earned the highest advancement award the Boy Scouts of America offers to Scouts - the Eagle Scout Award.

He will receive his award during a Court of Honor at 2 p.m. March 19 at Eudora United Methodist Church, 703 Church St.

Hartley is a member of Troop 64, sponsored by the Eudora Lions Club. He is one of approximately 4 percent of all Boy Scouts who attain the Eagle rank. He has earned 21 merit badges and completed a community-related service project.

Hartley chose to paint the new concession stand at the south park in Eudora. He worked through the recreation department in order to get permission and supplies.

He has served in various troop offices including patrol leader, assistant patrol leader, assistant senior patrol leader, senior patrol leader and junior assistant Scoutmaster.

He also is a brotherhood member of the Order of the Arrow Tamegonit Lodge 1474. The Order of the Arrow is a national honor camping society of the Boy Scouts of America.

Hartley also has attended Camp Jayhawk, Camp Theodore Naish Scout Reservation and many Heart of America camparees.

He is a 2005 graduate of Eudora High School and attends Johnson County Community College. He is the son of Scott and Lisa Stoltenow, Eudora, and the grandson of Raymond and Mary Hartley, Paradise, Texas, and Jim and Genevieve Guy, Eudora.

Cub Scout Pack 3462, chartered to Langston Hughes PTO, had its annual Pinewood Derby on Jan. 21 at Langston Hughes School.

Winners of the den races were Jordan Portela, Tigers; Joseph Cary, Wolves; Matt Pribbenow, Bears; and Thomas Peterson, Webelos.

Overall winners of the Pack championship were Joseph Cary, first; Matthew Peterson, second; Jordan Portela, third; Carson Ziegler, fourth; Thomas Peterson, fifth; and Josh Waisner, sixth.

Winners of the family open class were Adam Ziegler, first; Glenn Pribbenow, second; John Carmody, third; Tripp Wright, fourth; Dakota Zinn, fifth; and Parker Guyot, sixth.

The following Scouts won special awards: Tyler Darnall, best Scout theme; Vail Moshiri, best of show; and Matthew Solcher, most Scout involvement.

Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield School PTA, had its annual Blue and Gold Banquet on Feb. 13 at Plymouth Congregational Church. Four Webelos Scouts received their Arrow of Light Award, the highest achievement in Cub Scouting. Scouts honored were Jamie Braden, son of Scott and Cammie Braden; Tyler Hanson, son of Len and Betty Hanson; Nathan Lassley, son of Daniel and Julie Lassley; and Wyatt Patterson, son of Paul and Margaret Patterson.

In addition, five Webelos Scouts participated in a bridging ceremony from Pack 3370 to Boy Scout troops in Lawrence. Jamie Braden, Wyatt Patterson, and Austen Down joined Troop 55 while Tyler Hanson and Nathan Lassley joined Troop 59. Presiding over the ceremonies were Cubmasters Rick Werner and Wayne Dedloff along with Webelos Den Leader Scott Braden.

The pack sponsored a Feb. 24 trip to the Strategic Air and Space Museum in Ashland, Neb. Scouts from Webelos 1 den - accompanied by adult leaders - participated in activities, including building and flying model planes, building and launching rockets, and taking a tour of museum exhibits.

The Scouts then met Thomas Jones, a veteran of four NASA space flights. The boys were permitted to sleep overnight in a fully restored sea rescue plane in one of the exhibit hangars. Scouts who participated were Alex Houston, Dustin Vickers, Hunter Dedloff, Logan Cherland, Lucas Werner, Michael Edman, Nick Pippert, Stephen Fulton and Tyler Robbins.

Cub Scout Pack 3057, chartered to the Lawrence Catholic School PTO, helped celebrate Scout Sunday on Feb. 19 at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church. Members of other Scout units also were present.

Flag bearers were Patrick Fay, Carrick Finnegan, Jacob Pfeifer, Clayton Pfeifer, Michael Smith, John Abney, Adam Wagner, Jack Powell, Sam Witte, Jared Lange, Isaac McCracken and Gretchen Frick. Servers were Alexis Riner, Jakob Walter and Steven Howe. Jack Lange and Kelly Bach made opening announcements.

Readers were Nathan Shobe and Kolbe Murray. Prayers of the faithful were read by: Brandon Bunting, Simon Elwell, Isabella Waite, Michael DeGrassi, Gabriel Magee, Noah Malsbury, KJ Lashley and Michelle Powell. Aidan Schaplowsky, Ben Witte and Michael Heschmeyer helped with the collection. Gift bearers were Jack Lange, Clay Lister, Alex Waite, August Murphy-Beach, Hannah Walter and Luke Oberrieder.

Cub Scouts earning their Light of Christ religious emblem were Brandon Bunting, Michael DeGrassi, Austin Dominguez, Jalen Galloway, Jared Lange, KJ Lashley, Clay Lister, Gabriel Magee, Noah Malsbury, Aidan Schaplowsky, Alex Waite, Ben Witte, Sam Witte, Thomas Bach and Noah Yoshida.

Luke Fitzgerald, Simon Elwell, Luke Oberrieder, Clayton Pfeifer and Jakob Walter earned their Parvuli Dei (Children of God) religious emblem.

After Mass, the Pack had its Blue and Gold brunch. Jerry Wintz gave the blessing.

The opening was led by second-year Webelos: John Abney, Jack Lange, Kolbe Murray and Nathan Shobe who earned the Arrow of Light Award.

Keith Wood gave a presentation on behalf of Friends of Scouting.

John Abney, Jack Lange and Kolbe Murray bridged to Troop 53 and were received by Brian Chumbley and Eric Meutz. Nathan Shobe bridged to Troop 59 and was received by Audrey Taylor and Keagan Taylor.

The Tiger Scouts did the closing ceremony.

The Pelathe District had its first overnight lock-in Feb. 24 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds. Thirty-one Boy Scouts and Venture Crew members attended. The scouts participated in a cookoff, and Mountain Ball and Tomahawk throwing.

Winners of the cookoff were Dragon Bolts of Troop 64, first; Cobra Knights of Troop 64, second; and Troops 56 and 61, third. Garrett Koehler, of Troop 56, won the Tomahawk competition.

Scouts who attended were Justin Deaver, Douglas Rawlings, Michael Smith, Dom Reiske, Tyler Denny, Andrew Denny, Jaron Brynds, and Stefan Kuczera, Troop 52; Austin Sledd, Garrett Koehler, Sean Neavitt, Troop 56; John Wagner, Troop 59; Mikey Robinson, David Nichols, William Gibson, Tyler Gibson, Jackson Gregg, Troop 61; Thomas Stanley, Joseph Walker, Alex Whitten, Lyle Howell, Colin Forsberg, Hawley Montgomery, Tyler Lathrom, Jonathan Morrison, Justin Male, Dylan Lathrom, Troop 54; Jojo Male, Clarissa Wagner, Desiree Richmond and Cortney Richmond, Venture Crew 2052.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.