Archive for Saturday, March 11, 2006

Around and About

March 11, 2006


Melissa Stewart, a senior at Free State High School, received Kansas State University's $2,500 Leadership Scholarship. She received the award during a ceremony Jan. 30 at K-State.

Fifteen students from Central Junior High School traveled to Johnson County Community College to participate in the Kansas Regional Science Olympiad competition Feb. 25. The team placed fifth out of 23 other schools. Individual medal winners included Lincoln Adams, Ruth Byers, Tim Clark, McKean Parker, Stephanie Crandon, Michael Smith, Roy Wedge and Alex Guenzbourg. The team qualified to compete in the state finals in April in Wichita.

Allen County Community College announces area students who made honors during the fall 2005 semester.

John Volk, Tonganoxie, and Joshua King and Rebecca Zeller, Overbrook, made the president's list by earning a 4.0 grade-point average. Amanda Korbe, Tecumseh, made the dean's honor roll by receiving a 3.5-3.99 GPA. Tamatha Reasoner, Craig McCullah and Cory Cooper, Lawrence; Ashley Seimears and Hanna Taylor, Wellsville; Justin Trainer, Winchester; Alicia Duncan and Tosha Ellis, Overbrook; and Ryan Karle, Tecumseh, made the honorable mention honor roll by earning a 3.0-3.49 GPA.

DePauw University junior Lauren Krivoshia, Lawrence, is studying in Macerata, Italy, during the spring semester. Krivoshia graduated from Free State High School in 2003 and is an art studio major at DePauw, Greencastle Ind. She is the daughter of Gretchen Krivoshia.

Andrew Sneegas, Lawrence, participated in a simulation of the European Union in Washington, D.C. Sneegas was one of 11 Susquehanna University students who participated in the event Nov. 17-19. Sneegas, a 2003 graduate of Free State High School, is the son of Stan and Barb Sneegas.

Four Lawrence High School students placed at the Regional Kansas Scholastic Press Assn. competition Feb. 24 and are now eligible for state competition in May. The winners were David Hughes-Pfiefer, second, editorial cartooning; Kate Mather, first, yearbook copywriting; Stephanie Jian, first in yearbook design and honorable mention in yearbook sports writing; and Kelly Morgan, third yearbook design. More than 760 students competed in the region.

Additionally, the 2005 Red & Black yearbook was selected as a National Scholastic Press Assn. Pacemaker Finalist. This is the top award in the nation with more than 300 entries. This is the second nomination for the LHS yearbook in four years. A final winner will be announced April 20.

Joshua Gaston, Lawrence, recently was named to the dean's list for the fall 2005 semester at Drake University by earning at least a 3.5 grade-point average. Joshua also pledged and was initiated as a member of Theta Chi during the fall semester.

Kristin Bock, Lawrence, graduated magna cum laude in December from Baker University with Bachelor of Science degrees in mass communication and sports administration. Bock was initiated into Alpha Delta Sigma, Baker University's highest academic honor society that recognizes students who graduate in the top 10 percent of their class. She is the daughter of Shelley and Susan Bock.

Matthew and Erica Gudenkauf, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Caden Joseph Gudenkauf, born Feb. 25, 2006, at Lawrence Memorial Hospital. Maternal grandparents are Michael and Karen Roberts, Lawrence. Paternal grandparents are Joe and Linda Gudenkauf, Topeka. Great-grandparents are Mae Bullock and Kent and Winona Roberts, Rolla, Mo.; Martha Gilbert, Sabetha; and Maxine Gudenkauf, Topeka.

Claire VanderVelde, 2003 graduate of Free State High School and a junior in the School of Journalism at the University of Missouri, was selected for a Dow Jones editing internship for 2006. She will be working with the Sioux Falls, S.D., Argus Leader this summer.

Thirteen Baker University students attended the 29th annual Big 12 Conference on Black Student Government at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. The conference, which was Feb. 23-25, was open to colleges in the Big 12 region.

Ron Atkinson, Nicole Baumgartner, Turkaila Beauvoir, Michelle Burton, Raymond Davis, Silas Dulan, Preston Edwards, Callie Fields, Michael Green, Ashley Hawkins, Kendra Scarbrough, Kassia Tharpe and Allison Williams attended the conference.

Ron Holden, multicultural affairs coordinator, and Henderson Hill, residence life coordinator, also participated in the event.

Ryan Bodensteiner, Lawrence, made the dean's list for the fall 2005 semester at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln by earning a 4.0 grade-point average.

Walt Ohnesorge-Fick, Lawrence, made the dean's list for the fall 2005 semester at Ottawa University by earning at least a 3.5 grade-point average.

Hugh Naughtin, a 2003 graduate of Free State High School, appeared as an attendant in the Temple of Wisdom as well as a member of the chorus in Lawrence University's recent production of Mozart's opera "The Magic Flute." A junior at Lawrence, he is the son of John and Paula Naughtin, Lawrence.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.