Archive for Saturday, June 3, 2006

Around and about

June 3, 2006


Lawrence students Taylor Anderson and Sarah Szabo were honored at a recent awards banquet at Lawrence University in Appleton, Wis.

Anderson, a 2003 graduate of Free State High School, received the Edith A. Mattson Prize. The $500 prize recognizes a student who has made a significant contribution to residential life in Sage Hall. Anderson, president of Sage Hall Council, is the son of Scott Anderson and Karen Anderson, both of Lawrence.

Szabo, a 2003 graduate of Lawrence High School, received the Richard A. Harrison Award for Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Szabo will use the $800 award to pursue independent research on ethno-tourism in Costa Rica. She is the daughter of Robert and Margo Szabo, Lawrence.

Eric "Rick" Mikkelson, a 1985 Lawrence High School graduate, has been promoted to partner in the national law firm of Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal LLP, where he practices corporate and tax law. Mikkelson, a 1994 graduate of Kansas University's School of Law, is the son of Gerald Mikkelson and Meg Winchell, Lawrence. Mikkelson and his wife, Margo, and their three children reside in Prairie Village.

Mike and Kristel Lewis, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Luke Darrel Lewis, born May 18, 2006, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center. He has a brother, Macade, 22 months. Maternal grandparents are Jere and Judy Wiechman, Barnes. Paternal grandparents are Randy and Sue Lewis, Lawrence. Great-grandparents are Kathryn Hagen, Lawrence, and Lois Kitt, Baldwin.

Myriam Bloom and Lynne Sauer, both of Lawrence, and Lauren Sanders, Wellsville, made the dean's list for the spring 2006 semester at Missouri State University in Springfield by earning at least a 3.50 grade-point average.

Beth Steinkamp, McLouth, was inducted into the Emporia State University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, an honor society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship in all academic disciplines.

Several Lawrence area students were honored by the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Kansas University during an April 26 ceremony. The students and their awards: Anastacia Wolfe, Eudora, Bruce Linton Electronic Media Graduate Award; Himeezembi Kamatuke, Lawrence, Journalism School Service Award; Molly Kocour, Lawrence, Dana Leibengood Strategic Communications Award; and Tricia Masenthin, Lawrence, John Bremner Copy Editing Award.

Several Lawrence area students were honored by the Kansas University Department of Theatre and Film. The students and their awards: Mark von Schlemmer, Baldwin, Charles "Buddy" Rogers Scholarship; Fernando Arenas, Lawrence, Berg Family Film Studies Award; Dylan Hilpman, Lawrence, Shirley and Tom P. Rea Memorial Award; Eric Melin, Lawrence, Patricia Joyce Ellis Scholarship and Loren Dolezal Community Service Award; Kelly Vogel, Lawrence, Ambrose Saricks Family Scholarship and Ethel Hinds Burch Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Theatre Award; and Anna Wieczorek, Lawrence, Clarence Seaver Technical Theatre Scholarship.

Krystal Bishop, Basehor, made the spring 2006 president's honor roll at Oklahoma State University by earning a 4.0 GPA. Julia Ellena, Lawrence, and Megan Lawrence, McLouth, made the honor roll at OSU by earning at least a 3.50 grade-point average.

McPherson College recognized area students for their achievements during the 2005-2006 academic year in an awards convocation May 5.

Jessica Foulke, sophomore from Lawrence, received the Leland L. Lengel History Scholar Award. Ripp Harrison, freshman from McLouth, earned an Excellence in Competitive Exhibition Award because his work was chosen to be juried in the Prairie Arts Competition in Sterling.

Phyllis Houk, Oskaloosa, will celebrate her 80th birthday today with her children, Mary and Marvin Smith, Topeka, John and Dana Houk, Oskaloosa, and Irene Houk, Oskaloosa. Her seven grandchildren, three great-granddaughters and sisters Barbara Smith, Woodland Park, Colo., and Peggy Sanford, Sanger, Texas, also will share in the celebration. Cards may be sent to her at Box 16532, Oskaloosa 66066.

The Eudora High School Alumni Assn.'s banquet and yearly meeting will be Sunday in the Eudora High School commons area, 2203 Church St.

Registration begins at noon. The covered-dish dinner will start at 12:30 p.m., followed by the business meeting.

The banquet is open to all graduates of Eudora High School. Special recognition will be given to the class of 1956.

Those planning to attend are asked to bring their own table service. Coffee and tea will be provided. For more information, call Jeannie Rodgers at 542-3505 or Jerry Abel at 542-2487.

Kayla Ashley Gallaher Fox graduated at semester from Lawrence High School. She will be attending Northland College in Ashland, Wis., in the fall with a Ponzio Fine Arts Scholarship. She is the daughter of Patricia Gallagher Fox and Larry Fox. She is the granddaughter of Florence Gallagher and Lillie Fox.

Justin Riley, a graduating senior from Grinnell College, recently received two prestigious awards. He received the Dick Gilbert '81 Memorial Award, for outstanding athlete in sportsmanship and leadership in cross country and track, and the James Walter Rosenfield Scholarship.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.