Archive for Sunday, July 23, 2006

Deer permits to go on sale Aug. 1

July 23, 2006


Nearly 2,300 non-resident firearms deer hunting permits were not taken during the May application period.

Now those permits will go on sale to the general public - resident and non-resident - on Aug. 1. They'll be available at license vendors and on the Web at

No permits remain, however, for Unit 19, which includes Douglas, Johnson, Wyandotte and most of Leavenworth and Shawnee counties.

The largest number of permits available - 789 - are in Unit 11, which includes a small southern slice of Douglas County, all of Franklin County and the eastern half of Osage County.

A total of 771 permits are available in Unit 10 which includes practically all of Jefferson County and the remainder of Leavenworth Country.

Hunters who purchase a leftover permit will lose preference points they have accumulated for next year's drawing. Applicants who were successful in the nonresident drawing or the resident permit drawing may not purchase a leftover permit.

No hunter may purchase more than one permit for an antlered deer.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.