Archive for Saturday, February 25, 2006

Scouting news

February 25, 2006


¢ Henry Joseph Reiske, Lawrence, has earned the rank of Eagle Scout. He is a member of Boy Scout Troop 52 and Venture Crew 2691. Reiske will be recognized at a court of honor ceremony at 6:30 p.m. March 5 at St. John the Evangelist Church, 1234 Ky.

Reiske joined scouting as a Tiger in Pack 3057 in 1995. He earned the Arrow of Light in January 2000. He then joined Troop 52. Reiske earned the following 39 merit badges while advancing to Eagle: camping, citizenship in the community, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world, communications, environmental science, family life, first aid, lifesaving, personal fitness, personal management, swimming, American heritage, archery, art, atomic energy, backpacking, basketry, chemistry, climbing, cooking, finger printing, fish and wildlife management, fishing, geology, hiking, Indian lore, law, leatherwork, mammal study, metalwork, music, nature, reptile and amphibian study, rifle shooting, sculpture, small boat sailing, snow sports and wilderness survival. He is a brave in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say and a brotherhood member of the Order of the Arrow. He has received the following awards: 50 Miler Award, 100 Nights Camping, 12 Months Camping, BSA Snorkeling, BSA SCUBA, Heritage Trail, Paul Bunyan Woodsman, World Conservation, Firem'n Chit, Totin' Chip and Rimrock Trail. He has earned both of the Catholic Boy Scout religious emblems: Ad Altari Dei and Pope Pius XII.

Reiske has attended summer camp at Camp Theodore Naish Scout Reservation, H.R. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation and Camp Alexander. He has attended Philmont Scout Ranch in Cimarron, N.M., Sea Base in Key West, Fla., and the Canadian Scout Jamboree. Reiske has staffed Cub Scout Daycamp for four summers. He has completed junior leader, CIT and Brownsea leadership training. His troop leadership positions include assistant patrol leader, patrol leader, den chief, patrol guide, senior patrol leader, OA troop representative and instructor.

For his Eagle project, Reiske repaired erosion damage on a hill and stabilized the hillside near the overlook area at Clinton Lake. The unstable hillside was directly above where the new walkway to Sanders Mound is to be built. The repairs required filling deep ruts with rock then overlaying the rock with burlap bags containing soil and grass seed and planting several hundred saplings in the area.

Reiske is a junior at Lawrence High School. He is a member of the LHS Latin Club and plays rugby on the Under 19 team of the Kansas Jayhawk Rugby Football Club. His parents are Mark and Sue Reiske.

¢ The Heart of America Council Jewish Committee on Scouting had its first Religious Awards Ceremony to honor youths and adults who received their Jewish Religious Award during the past year. Heart of America Council represents 13 counties, including those surrounding the greater Kansas City area. Thirty-three boys and adults were recognized in February at Congregation Beth Torah in Leawood. David Berkowitz, of the Pelathe District and a committee member, helped hand out certificates to the youth participants. Evan Mielke was the only Jewish Scout from the Pelathe District to earn a religious medal.

Boy Scout Troop 52 celebrated Scout Sunday Feb. 19 by attending the 11 a.m. service at its charter organization, First United Methodist Church in Lawrence. Scouts passed out bulletins and helped with the collection plate. Stefan Koczera gave the scripture reading. Glen Sharp, troop chairman, gave the scout moment and introduced Chris Golledge, the new scoutmaster. Gollege spoke briefly to the congregation. The event was coordinated by David Berkowitz, troop chaplain.

¢ Venturing Crew 2052, chartered to St. Margaret's Episcopal Church, observed Scout Sunday and participated as candle lighters at the church.

Crew members attended the Venturing Officers Winter Event at the Great American Gymnastics Experience in Blue Springs, Mo. The participated in climbing, team building and gymnastics. Those who attended were Desiree Richmond, Cortney Richmond, Christy Howard, Kathy Lewis, Clarissa Wagner, Nadia Scruggs, Alexis Tommer and Jo Anna Male. Adult Leaders who attended were Kim Zinn, Rose Wagner, Ralena McCurdy, Lena Scruggs and Selena Gillispie.

The crew attended a Trader's Rendezvous in February at Camp Theodore Naish Scout Reservation. Among the activities were cold-weather camping, black-powder shooting, wood carving, fire building, branding, and rope making. Crew members who participated were Clarissa Wagner, Rose Wagner, Jo Anna Male, Ralena McCurdy and Barbara Pressgrove.

The crew is open to women ages 13-21. For more information about the group, call Ralena McCurdy at 542-3050.

¢Boy Scout Troop 53, chartered to Christ Community Church of Lawrence, had its annual Winter Court of Honor on Feb. 6. The following scouts received rank advancements from Scoutmaster Larry Thornton: Alex KcKinsey and Trenton Schambaugh, Tenderfoot; Max Butterfield, Joshua Ideus, Alex McKinsey, Trenton Schambaugh and Ryan Schulteis, Second Class; Joey Cunningham, Star; and Zach Guy, Life rank.

The following scouts earned merit badges: Chris Burger, John Chumbley, Zach Chumbley, Joey Cunningham, Zach Guy, BJ Hambleton, Joshua Ideus, Jimmy Kelly, Robert Larrabee, Evan Mielke, Tim Muetz, Ryan Pennington, Zak Stremel and David Teefey.

Alex Webster received the Scuba Diving Award, and Evan Mielke earned the Ner Tamid Jewish Religious Award.

Jordan Yulich was elected senior patrol leader, replacing Steven May who had served since September 2005.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.