Archive for Saturday, April 15, 2006

Scouting news

April 15, 2006


Boy Scout Troop 64, chartered to the Eudora Lions Club, participated in the 19th annual Eudora "Scouting for Food" drive April 8. Scouts who participated in the drive were Nathaniel Bradley, Conner Bradley, Andrew Briery, Devon Middleton, Tyler Lathrom, Dylan Lathrom, Alex Whitten, Lyle Howell and Steven Wimmer. They were helped by the following adult leaders: Jerry Criqui, Tim Middleton, James Briery, Bryan Howell, Aaron Lathrom, Paula Bradley, Ann Wimmer, Amye Scott and John Scott.

The troop is scheduled to attend a merit badge conference April 21-22 at Kansas State University.

The troop currently meets at 7 p.m. each Monday in the basement of the Eudora Methodist Church. Boys, ages 11-17 who are interested in joining, are welcome to visit a meeting.

Venturing Crew 2052, chartered to St. Margaret's Episcopal Church, had its annual crew elections March 9. The following members were elected: JoAnna Male, president; Nadia Scruggs, vice president of administration; Kayla Chilcoat, vice president of programming; Desiree Richmond, secretary; Alexis Tommer, treasurer; Carol Fittell, quartermaster; Christy Howard, chaplain; Lissy Ridenour, scribe; and Kathy Lewis, historian.

During spring break the crew traveled to Minnesota to visit the Underground Aquarium in Minneapolis. They "slept with the sharks" in an overnight program where they stayed in tunnels of the aquarium; helped feed sharks, turtles and fish; learned how to make ocean water; took a behind-the-scenes tour; and visited the baby fish and shark areas. They then visited the Science Museum of Minneapolis, Lego Land and Camp Snoopy at the Mall of America.

Venturing Crew 489, of Richfield, Minn., hosted the group and cooked dinner.

Scouts and adult leaders who attended were Nadia Scruggs, Sarah Shau, Alexis Tommer, Penny Shau, Barb Pressgrove, Len Scruggs, Desiree Richmond, Cortney Richmond, Kim Zinn, Christy Howard, Lissy Ridenour, Kathy Lewis, Cathy Howard and Ralena McCurdy. Also attending were Martin Pressgrove, of Troop 65, and Mason McCurdy, of Crew 2691.

The crew meets on the second and fourth Thursday of every month at St. Margaret's Church in Lawrence. For questions or more information, contact Ralena McCurdy at 542-3050 or 865-6095.

The Catholic Committee on Scouting for the Archdiocese, of Kansas City, Kan., had an Awards Mass on April 2 at the Cathedral of St. Peter in Kansas City, Kan. Archbishop Joseph Naumann presided. Dominick Reiske, of Troop 52; Michael Smith, of Troop 52; Henry Chapman, of Troop 59; and Joshua Ostermann, of Troop 59, received their Ad Altar Dei (To the Altar of God) Religious Reward. Adults who also received awards included Nancy Keel, of Kaw Valley Girl Scout Council, and the Rev. Brian Scheiber, director of vocations and chaplain of Archdiocese Catholic Committee on Scouting.

Webelos Scouts from Den 4 of Pack 3462, chartered to Langston Hughes PTO, delivered "Scouting for Food" bags and cards on April 5. The food was picked up April 8 and delivered to the Salvation Army Center for distribution. Webelos who participated included Dakota Zinn, Garrett Frank, Garrett Weeks, AJ Ware, Matt Carmody, Thomas Peterson, Hunter Ross and Vail Moshiri. They were helped by adults Rod Zinn, Barry Frank, Sean Weeks, Stephen Ware, John Carmody and Kelley Ross.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.