Archive for Saturday, October 1, 2005

Scouting News

October 1, 2005


Boy Scout Troop 53 had its annual Fall Court of Honor on Sept. 19.

The following Scouts received their Tenderfoot rank from Scoutmaster Larry Thornton: Max Butterfield, Dawson Conway, B.J. Hambleton, Joshua Ideus, Dylan Orth, Eric Peterson, Ryan Schulteis and Patrick Shields. Conway, Hambleton and Shields also received their Second Class rank.

Seventy-nine merit badges were earned and presented to the following Scouts: Max Butterfield, John Chumbley, Zac Chumbley, Dawson Conway, Joey Cunningham, Zach Guy, B.J. Hambleton, Anthony Heili, Joshua Ideus, Peter Lesslie, Alex McKinsey, Evan Mielke, Chris Muetz, Greg Muetz, Tim Muetz, Dylan Orth, Ryan Pennington, Justin Saathoff, Ryan Schulteis, Trenton Shambaugh, Patrick Shields, Zach Stremel and David Teefey.

The Troop attended Camp Alexander in Lake George, Colo. this summer. Joey Cunningham won the 2005 Camp Director's Award. The Troop won the bronze medal in the campwide "Iron Man Relay." Evan Mielke was a member of the 2005 Camp Alexander staff.

While at camp, the following Scouts completed the Blue Mountain hike in Pike National Forest: Dawson Conway, Ryan Schulteis, B.J. Hambleton, Patrick Sheilds, Joshua Ideus and Dylan Orth. Adult leaders Eric Muetz and Bryan Chumbley also completed the hike.

Several members and adult leaders performed a polar bear swim - with a temperature of 38 degrees - at 6 a.m. on the final day of camp in Lake Alexander. They were: Dawson Conway, Ryan Schulteis, Dylan Orth, Ryan Pennington, John Chumbley, Patrick Shields, Max Butterfield, scouts; and Eric Muetz, Bryan Chumbley and Jim Mielke, adult leaders.

Alek McElroy and Chaz Steele, the newest Eagle Scouts from Troop 53, were recognized. It was announced that Stephen May had been elected as Troop 53 senior patrol leader, replacing Tim Muetz, who had served since February 2005.

¢ Webelos, from Cub Scout Pack 3059, chartered to First Presbyterian Church of Lawrence and attended Webelos Woods campout Sept. 16-18 at Baldwin City Lake. Scouts participating were: Brandon Botkin, Nathan Kappelman, Drew Sheppard, Matthew Steacy, Darren Rawlings, Caelan Golledge, Andy Freeman, Philip Gabler, Bryce Griffith, Joshua Seybert and Israel Jefferson. They were accompanied by adult leaders and parents: Mike Botkin, Shirley Sheppard, Caroll Steacy, Brenda Kappelman, Richard Rawlings, Chris Golledge, Paul Gabler, Chris Griffith and Russ Seybert.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.