Archive for Saturday, October 1, 2005

Around and about

October 1, 2005


John and Parris Orr, Lilburn, Ga., announce the birth of their daughter, Julia Marie Orr, born Sept. 1, 2005, at DeKalb Medical Center in Atlanta.

She has a brother, Justin, 5.

Maternal grandparents are Bob and Pam Riordan, Lawrence. Paternal grandmother is Ruby Orr, Jonesville, Va. Great-grandparents are Betty Sutton, Easley, S.C., and Betty Sargent, Overland Park.

¢ Casey George, Baldwin, has entered two Holsteins in the dairy division of the 32nd annual North American International Livestock Exposition, which will be Nov. 5-18 in Louisville, Ky. Brittany George, Baldwin, has entered one Holstein in the dairy division of the competition.

¢ Cody Heston, Oskaloosa High School student, has been named a commended student in the 2006 National Merit Scholarship program. Commended students place among the top 5 percent of more than 1 million students who entered the 2006 competition by taking the 2004 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

¢ The 80th annual Flory reunion was Sept. 18 at the Lone Star Church of the Brethren.

Those who attended from the area: Mary and Lanny Tate; Susan, Eli and Pete Turner; Kendall and Debbie Eichman; Aaron, Marci, Alexis and Ashyln Flory; Mike and Dorothy Flory; Abbie, Jeff, Jenna and Alaina Flory; Arletta Flory; Bobby Oliver; Jackie Flory; Darrell and Frances Shuck; Etha, Jim and Franklin Johnson; Kathryn Flory Stebbins and Laudie Worley; Dot Flory; Gussie Flory; Raymond and Caroline Flory; Jim and Donna Flory; Randy and Cheryl Flory; Demetria, Warren and Maliya White; Tom Patchen; Calvin and Jean Flory; Melvin and Theda Kessler; Steve and Susan Tate; Vivian Johnson; Rusty Flory; Doris Brandt Sullivant; Sandy Patchen; Don and Marjorie Ann Schuck; and the Rev. Steve, Tami and Mathias Klinedinst.

¢ Stephanie Sailer, Lawrence, received a Master of Arts degree in art from the University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, during the summer semester.

¢ Ryan Rowland, a 2003 graduate of Lawrence High School and a 2005 graduate of Garden City Community College, is a junior at Charleston Southern University, Charleston, S.C., where he is a member of the Buccaneer Baseball Team. Ryan received both baseball and academic scholarships to attend the university. Ryan is the son of Ron and Debbie Rowland, Lawrence, and the grandson of Jackie Huff, Lawrence.

¢ The following area students were recognized by the Kansas University Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association for being in the top 10 percent of their senior class. The students were recognized during a ceremony Sept. 21.

Honorees and their respective schools are: Rose Garrison, Morgan Grissum, Jessica Hill, Lynne Lammers, Katelyn Miles, Annie Parr, Braxton Nottingham, Christa Tornedon, Katie Beall and Emily Garcia, Baldwin High School; Megan Arnold, Steven Bower, Corry Bunting, Garrett Chumley, Nicci Equels, Valerie Gunn, Robert Lewis, Brett Miles, William Peterson, Anne Shores, Amanda Vervaecke and Dustin Weimer, Basehor Linwood High School; Mark Abel, Megan Ballock, Kelsey Epperson, Carrie Lister, Guy Kirby Montgomery, Timothy Moran, Benjamin Tillman and Victoria Tunget, Eudora High School; BreAnna Barker, Audrey Deeken, Holly Kitterman, Kevin Stewart, McLouth High School; Rachel Cunningham, Kathryn Glanville, Cody Heston, Alisha King and Megan Reed, Oskaloosa High School; Allegra Fisher, David Foltz, Christopher Ketter, Adam O'Trimble, Bonny Pruitt, Sean VanDyke, Jonathan Varner, Kristin Weatherford, Brandon Williams and Haley Wilson, Perry-Lecompton High School; and Rachel Bouza, Rhett Clark, Maggie Gratny, Megan Holton, Ben Jefferies, Eli Jones, Garrett Kelly, Zack Pistora, Spencer Seman, Micah Titterington and Austin Young, Tonganoxie High School.

Kaylin Carter and Nicholas Strole, Bishop Seabury Academy; Zachary Anderson, Gennady Bakunin, Meghan Bock, Emelia Brooke, Julie Brynds, Molly Bunch, Kallie Campbell, Kyle Chauvin, Keenan Cox, Bridget Falley, Cooper Farr, Amanda Frederick, Greg Gaumer, David Green, Linda Green, Katerina Gruzinskaya, Margret Hall, Christian Hansen, Sarah Heider, Evan Hilpman, Jennifer Hornbaker, Andrea Koch, Molly Krishtalka, Karen Kroge, Lydia Krug, Joanna Loewen, Marissa Massoni, Elizabeth McClure, Karl McDonald, Sterling Moody, Perry Morrow, Summer Mulford, Lauren Oberzan, Banaka Okwuone, Laura Picicci, Brittany Sakumura, Kalen Siebert, Amy Soules, Blake Thames, Alysha Valencia, Jason Vitale and Boning Zhang, Free State High School; and Krysta Beaver, Elizabeth Beisner, Stuart Bell, Rebecca Blevins, Christopher Bohling, Michael Brock, Miriam Cha, Julie Cluff, Cyril Cook, Mary Cottrell, Jordan Crice, Jennifer Crowe, Brenna Daldorph, Sandra Differding, Joshua Edwards, Kendal Forio, Anna Harrington, Kelly Harrington, Tamara Hilmes, Jennifer Hunt, Salmon Kadivar, Samoneh Kadivar, Nolan Kellerman, Amy Magnuson, Marthe McDonald, Kyle Mendenhall, Camille Myers, Laura Parkinson, Brianne Pfannenstiel, Matthew Riley, Carly Sakumura, Ray Segebrecht, Kelly Simmons, Scott Simmons, Cortney Sostarich, Allyson Taylor, Emily Thomas, Lydia Thomas, Thora Whitmore and Sydney Wilson, Lawrence High School.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.