Archive for Saturday, November 19, 2005

Around and about

November 19, 2005


South Junior High School's Nate McFadden and Jessica Newman finished third and fourth respectively to claim the third-place trophy for SJHS in the K-8 Division of the Blue Valley High School Chess tournament on Nov. 5. In the K-6 Division, Wakarusa Valley School finished second.

Medal winners from Lawrence in the K-12 division were: Thomas Clark, South West Junior High School, 10th; and Roy Wedge, Central Junior High School, 11th.

Jacob Wilson, CJHS, placed 11th in the K-8 Division.

In K-6 Division, those receiving medals were: Lucas Suchy, Wakarusa Valley, eighth; Cal Young, Wakarusa Valley, 10th; Andrei Elliott, Quail Run, 16th; Michala Ruder, Cordley School, 21st; Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 23rd; and Ian Gent, Cordley, 24th.

¢ Rachel Wigen-Troccolino, Lawrence, is a member of the crew for "Lobster Alice," which was presented at St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minn. She is the props manager and dresser.

¢ Sgt. Kurt McBride, of the Midlothian (Texas) Police Department, graduated Oct. 28 from the Institute for Law Enforcement Administration's 84th School of Police Supervision.

The four-week program prepares participants for supervisory excellence in a law enforcement environment. He is the son of Walter and Sherry McBride, Lawrence.

¢ Several Lawrence schools earned trophies during the Wakarusa Valley Elementary Chess tournament Nov. 12. They were: Southwest Junior High School, second in K-8 Division; Quail Run School, first in K-6 Division; Wakarusa Valley School, third in K-6; Sunflower School, first in K-3 Division; and Cordley School, third in K-3.

Several Lawrence players placed individually. Those who placed: Thomas Clark, SWJHS, second, K-8; Cole Reams, Quail Run, third, K-6; and Kaustubh Nimkar, Sunflower, fourth, K-3.

Other Lawrence medal winners in K-8 were: Peter Lesslie, SWJHS, 10th; Roy Wedge, Central Junior High School, 11th; Matt Vandruff, SWJHS, 13th; Keely Stenseng, SWJHS, 14th; Nate McFadden, South Junior High School, 16th; and Jessica Newman, SJHS, 18th.

Lawrence medal winners in K-6: Luke Lesslie, Quail Run, fifth; Andrei Elliott, Quail Run, sixth; Caleb Borovik, Quail Run, seventh; Lucas Suchy, Wakarusa Valley, eighth; Cal Young, Wakarusa Valley, 12th; Garrick Clapp, Quail Run, 13th; Venkata Malladi, Deerfield, 15th; Michala Ruder, Cordley, 18th; Vinnie Barker, Sunflower, 19th; and Ian Gent, Cordley, 20th.

Lawrence medal winners in K-3: Roscoe Bradt, Cordley, fifth; James Skala, Sunflower, sixth; Sam Stephens, Cordley, ninth; Samarth Charkrasali, Sunflower, 10th; Apramay Mishra, Sunflower, 11th; Robert Newman, Wakarusa Valley, 12th; Tanner Smith, Sunflower, 13th; Alex Cateforis, Cordley, 14th; Finnian Dobbs, Quail Run, 18th; and Makayla Wagner, Wakarusa Valley, 19th.

¢ Carlos Chavez and Molly Feeney, Wichita, announce the birth of a son, Garrett Dennis Chavez-Feeney, born Nov. 8, 2005, at Via Christi Regional Medical Center - St. Joseph in Wichita. Paternal grandparents are Gabriel and Amy Chavez, Lawrence. Maternal grandparents are Sara Feeney, Wichita, and the late Dennis Feeney.

¢ A team representing Baldwin High School earned second-place honors at the annual Math Day competition at Washburn University. Members of the team were Mehmet Altuntas, Braxton Nottingham and Jos Rommelfanger.

Kevin Song, a Free State High School student, won third-place individual honors.

More than 400 students from 22 Kansas high schools participated in the event.

¢ Baker University seniors Kristin Bock and Patrick Lattin were inducted Nov. 9 into Phi Beta Delta, an honorary society for international scholars. Bock, a 2001 Free State High School graduate, is a mass communication and sports administration major. Lattin, of Lawrence, is majoring in French, theater and mass communication.

¢ The Lawrence Suzuki String Studios will present a program of violin and cello music at 4:30 p.m. Sunday at the Plymouth Congregational Church, 925 Vt. The performance is open to the public. Students between the ages of 3 and 18 who will be performing are from the studios of Julie Holmberg, Connie So and Eleanor Allen.

Students performing are: Andrew Bireta, Maikhaila Brown, Jenna Giele, Elsa Goossen, Addie Graham, Rinny Herndon, Evan Hilpman, Eileen Huang, Katelyn Hogsett, Riulong Hu, Catherine Marshall-Kramer, Isobel Marshall-Kramer, Nicole Limones, Brittany Limones, Dereck Limones, Myron Liu, Emily Ma, Rachel Masrud, Jonathan Matson, Nina Nikazm, Maya Roth, Lillie Ruttinger, Leigh Schenewerk, Abigail Schmidtberger, Sisi Srisutiva, Parkin Srisutiva, Lauren Schulteis, Rhien Walton, Rebecca Weinaug, Tay Yang and Ethan Rhodes. Violinists and cellists are Alden Cromwell, Drew Bolton and Curtis Zicker.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.