Archive for Tuesday, November 8, 2005

Lawrence students win writing awards

November 8, 2005


Several Lawrence students won Youth Writing and Artwork awards on Oct. 7 from the Kansas Authors Club.

For work they completed last year, five former sixth-graders at Wakarusa School swept the theme poetry category. Sarah Henry, Caitlin Goddard and Max Bailey, placed first, second and third respectively. Sandina Oxford and Chrissy Taylor took the first and second honorable mentions.

Henry and Goddard are now seventh-graders at Bishop Seabury Academy. Bailey, Oxford and Taylor are now seventh-graders at South Junior High.

Arna Hemenway, a Lawrence High senior, won first place for high school theme poetry.

For the contest, students could write prose or poetry about Kansas trailblazers, such as early explorers, military men, pioneers and cattlemen to those in the modern science and industrial fields.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.