Archive for Thursday, March 3, 2005


March 3, 2005


Kansas University's Aaron Miles and Christian Moody were named to the 2005 men's basketball academic All-Big Conference 12 team, the league announced Wednesday.

KU's Michael Lee was named to the second team.

Twelve players were named to the first team. First-team members must maintain a 3.20 or better grade-point average. Second team members have a 3.0 to 3.19 GPA.

Nebraska's Bronsen Schliep was the only individual to record a 4.00 GPA.

Other first-team members: Nebraska's John Turek, Tony Wilbrand, Jake Muhleisen and Jason Dourisseau; Missouri's Jimmy McKinney; Oklahoma's Kevin Bookout; Oklahoma State's Terrence Crawford and David Monds; and Texas A&M;'s Chris Walker.

Lee was joined on the second team by Colorado's Scott Senger and Brian Mattingly and OSU's Frans Steyn and Stephen Graham.

KU's Blair Waltz and Crystal Kemp were named to the first-team all-Big 12 women's academic team.

Nets remain

There was no thought of clipping the nets after KU tied for the league title with one game left.

"You don't clip nets for a share of the title. You clip it if you win it outright," Keith Langford said.

Award finalist

Self is one of 20 finalists for Naismith Coach of the Year Award, presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club and Coca-Cola. The top 20 list is compiled by writers, coaches and administrators from around the country.

Other finalists: Rick Barnes, Texas; Jim Boeheim, Syracuse; Mark Few, Gonzaga; Ray Giacoletti, Utah; Billy Gillispie, Texas A&M; Frank Haith, Miami; Mike Krzyzewski, Duke; Lute Olson, Arizona; Rick Pitino, Louisville; Skip Prosser, Wake Forest; Lorenzo Romar, Washington; Bo Ryan, Wisconsin; Kelvin Sampson, Oklahoma; Al Skinner, Boston College; Tubby Smith, Kentucky; Eddie Sutton, Oklahoma State; John Thompson III, Georgetown; Bruce Weber, Illinois; and Roy Williams, North Carolina. Winner will be recognized at the Naismith Awards Banquet on April 8 in Atlanta.

Retro look

The Jayhawks wore retro white uniforms with the word "Kansas" in block lettering -- all capital letters -- on the front, with their jersey numbers under the lettering. A Jayhawk positioned in a circle appeared on the front-right portion of the jerseys. The Jayhawks had their numbers, but not names, on the back of the jerseys. The cheerleaders wore 1950's-style outfits.

Seniors strong at home

KU's seniors finished their careers 56-3 in the fieldhouse, losing to Richmond, Arizona and Iowa State. The seniors went 15-1 in the fieldhouse this season.

KU-KSU numbers

The Jayhawks have won 30 in a row versus Kansas State and 11 straight at Allen Fieldhouse. Self is 5-0 versus KSU, and Jim Wooldridge is 0-10 versus KU.

LHS grad sits

KSU senior Mark Frederick, a walk-on out of Lawrence High, did not play. He's logged just four minutes in two games this season.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.